We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gemütlich natürlich!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's Point

Save Saved
You added Harvey's Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvey's Point
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
❉ BOOK NOW & SAVE ! ❉
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Donegal Town
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
“Gemütlich natürlich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Back again at Harvey's Point after too long an absence, just like coming home. Some additions and improvements and still the same wonderful welcome, fantastic food, great service and my favourite peat fires for sipping whiskey at. Love the Executive Suites, these are the same size as a small house!! I won't stay away as long again (cutting down on business) Looking forward to the next time and some more wonderful 'soft' Donegal days. Favourite county. Five star and the rest! Deluxe next time.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,733
    145
    32
    20
    9
See reviews for
294
1153
28
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

What a lovely place! We were upgraded into a beautiful room and the setting was magnificent! We loved the lake views, the gardens, and the hotels mascot, mr Harvey himself. Truly nice staff and just all around one of the best hotel experiences of my life.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a wonderful relaxing time. Stayed two nights and couldn't fault it. Staff really make you feel so welcome. Room was amazing, very large and double bath and vanity area wonderful. Finished to a very high standard throughout with many beautiful floral arrangements. A beautiful romantic hotel in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Once again we throughly enjoyed our weekend, service was excellent, we have stayed at HP several times now and always receive consistently high service, quality of food is excellent and the breakfast is very good, Rooms are of a very high standard and the staff continue with warm welcome and ' they remember you as well '
my compliments to HP
Brian Higgins

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

stayed here last week with my mum and two aunts for two nights - one word - amazing
Everything was five star - rooms, staff, food, cabaret, atmosphere. Nothing was too much bother
The highlight was definetly the food - breakfast was a treat in itself !! i could go on and on
definetly recommend this hotel for relaxation and food indulgence!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments following your recent visit to Harvey’s Point. We are delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

We appreciate your high recommendation of our hotel and we look forward to being of service to you again soon. Special greetings to our mother and your two aunts.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a lovely time as usual. The hotel, staff and food are excellent.
It also has the added bonus ( for us ) of being dog friendly.
We will be back soon and are already looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

A warm welcome back to Harvey’s Point and thank you for your continued loyalty which is very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team.

Congratulations on your recent anniversary celebrations.

We are delighted that you had another enjoyable experience and it was great to have your dog stay as well.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

All the hotel staff were so warm friendly and helpful. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was amazing, so large, the bathroom with its large double sink, make up area (lit mirror), large shower and not to mention the Jacuzzi bath was superb!
The breakfasts are amazing too, needless to say we didn't need much lunch after them!
This is hotel is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Neil,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point and thank you for your kind compliments in relation to our staff, our accommodation and our breakfasts. We are thrilled that you and a lovely time in our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Irish hospitality. Harvey's Point is the recipient of the prestigious AA Hotel of the Year award 2007 / 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Tingo and HostelBookers so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.