We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Harvey's Point to your Saves list
Harvey's Point
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
⛄️ Winter Breaks from €69
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
norn iron
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

just back from harveys point after attending a friends wedding. What and absolutely beautiful hotel. the staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. my room was totally amazing. food was amazing also. the place was spotless. i will definitey be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Joyce,

Many thanks for your kind comments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again sometime.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,070
    165
    40
    21
    9
See reviews for
352
1,361
34
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having just returned from a two night stay in Harvey`s Point with my Husband, all I can say is "simply wonderful". From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. A friendly girl at reception checked us in and then showed us to our room, and what a room, it was enormous, a lovely big bathroom, king size bed and a very relaxing seating area, everything you could possibly need was on hand, from the fully stocked mini-bar to the complimentary tea and coffee. It was the attention to detail that really impressed me, the Lindor chocolate, fresh fruit and the home made biscuits. You could stay quite happily in the room and never leave if you wished but the rest of the hotel calls and is just as impressive. The corridors and public areas are tastefully decorated with a mixture of fine art work and some beautiful photography,it really is exquisite. We ordered breakfast from room service both mornings, this arrived on time and was more than enough to set us up for the day ahead. We had one evening meal in the restaurant which overlooks the lake, stunning views and lovely relaxing music piping in over the speakers really made for a fabulous night. The meal and service was second to none, we were served by a very nice lady who helped my husband decide on the wine choice, she got it right. After the meal we went to the bar, again a very tastefully decorated and relaxing area that overlooked the lake. A man played the piano that sat in the corner. We met a very friendly couple and the night passed all too quickly. There are many hotels in Ireland that promise much but don't quite deliver, this could never be said of Harvey s Point, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. It is so good the one negative we took away was the fact we only stayed two nights, how we would have loved to have stayed a little longer. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sincere thanks for such a wonderful review of your recent experience at Harvey's Point. We are delighted that you had a lovely visit and especially that you appreciated the warm welcome and attention to guests's needs that is so important for us. Each and every one of our Team take a proud and personal role in delivering excellence in all aspects of hotel keeping and hospitality. Please be assured that we will not become complacent with such high praise. In fact, it encourages us to work even harder in our pursuit of perfection.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for a relaxing leisure break sometime soon. We are at your service.

Kindest personal regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked the hotel for our anniversary, hoped to catch the weekly summer country show, but one week to early. Still had an excellent meal and stay in luxurious surroundings. Only thing missing is pool /health lounge facilities which would have been the icing on the cake.John and Grace McGlynn.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear John & Grace,

Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for choosing Harvey's Point to mark the occasion. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience. Hopefully you might get a chance to visit us again before our Cabaret Dinner Show finishes at the end of October. We agree that a pool etc would be a great asset to our property and we hope to be in a position to offer these facilities sometime in the future.

With best wishes from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I spent yet another great break away at Harveys Point recently and again the welcome was just amazing, as is the entire experience. We also got a peep at the new Lake Shore Suites and they are magnficent with beautiful views over Lough Eske. We can't wait for our next trip. Everybody should experience Harveys Point at least once in their lives!!!!

Room Tip: The new Lake Shore suites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Kevin,

A warm welcome back again to Harvey's Point and thank you for your lovely review. It is always our pleasure to welcome you and your wife to our hotel and we appreciate your continued valued custom. It makes us happy to know that you always enjoy the experience and that you recommend us so highly. For sure we will keep working on new ideas to delight our guests and we look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Wedding guest at Harvey's Point. Everything was excellent. Beautiful location, very spacious rooms, pleasant and helpful staff, delicious food, very clean. A good time had by all. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Kerrie,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon for a relaxing leisure break.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We've been to many hotels across the globe and Harvey's Point is definitely up there among the best. Not only because of its wonderful location, spacious and luxurious rooms, and heavenly breakfast buffet in the cosy, classy dining room, but also for its amazing service level; low-key but always kind, personal and helpful.

Needless to say we enjoyed our three night stay a lot, and can recommend fully as a base for excursions into wild, beautiful Donegal and even the northern coast of Northern Ireland (don't miss Giant's Causeway).

A pool and a gym would make it perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room (even-numbered rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your high recommendation of Harvey's Point and the beautiful Northern half of Ireland. We are delighted that you have discovered our 'little piece of heaven'. There is an abundance of attractions in the region and Harvey's Point is the perfect base for touring or indeed a destination in itself to relax and escape from the busy world. We fully agree that a pool and gym would greatly enhance our product. They are certainly on our wish list and just as soon as resources become available, we will introduce these facilities. We hope that your ongoing travels will bring you back to Donegal sometime and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Harvey's Point.

Kindest personal regards,

The Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Béal Feirste, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I are just back from a weekend stay in Donegal Town and Harveys Point was our First stop. When we got to the hotel, we received a very warm welcome from reception and were then shown to our room and given a tour of it. It was simply outstanding, we could not believe the size of the room and the bathroom. The room was so clean, comfortable and very homely. You could live there.
We also ate in the Seafood bar and resturaunt on Friday evening and it was some of the nicest food we have ever had.. To top it all off, breakfast was beautiful. So much to choose from and all very fresh. The surroundings are also beautiful. We will definatley be back once we save the money to go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Marissa,

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your husband to Harvey's Point. Thank you for your delightful review. It is always encouraging to know that we have exceeded expectations and please be assured that we will continue in our quest for excellence in hotel keeping and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Irish hospitality. Harvey's Point is the recipient of the prestigious AA Hotel of the Year award 2007 / 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.