We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MALLETT WEDDING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Harvey's Point to your Saves list
Harvey's Point
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
⛄️ Winter Breaks from €69
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
londonderry n. ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“MALLETT WEDDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend at Harvey's Point Hotel for a family wedding on 13 April. From the moment we entered the reception area we were greated with great courtesy. Our executive Suite was amazing from the luxurious bathroom to the most comfortable bed imaginable. The member of staff who accompanied us to our room was friendly and courteous. The food was amazing. Overall, I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel for any function.

Room Tip: the Executive suite was so comfortable, quiet and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Yvonne, Thank you so much for your kind comments following your experience at the family wedding recently. We were delighted to welcome you all and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a relaxing leisure break sometime in the future. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,067
    166
    40
    21
    9
See reviews for
352
1,359
34
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballycastle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Last week my sister celebrated a special birthday along with some of her family at Harvey’s Point Hotel. A lot of planning went into the occasion from individual menu’s to piping her into dinner; serenading her with a violin to a fireworks birthday cake! It was such fun for all of us.
From the moment we proposed the trip Deirdre McGlone (Proprietor) and her wonderful team went into action. They organised a beautiful stretch silver Mercedes car to collect us and take us to Harvey’s Point (driven by Eamon who chatted all the time with us on the journey) and return us home again a few days later (this time Michael drove us and chatted all the way home too). The Gysling family very kindly hosted a champagne and canapé reception for us before my sister was shocked by the arrival of a piper! Deirdre had organised a really great piper in full Highland dress (Patrick Dorrian) to play for us in the Reading room and to pipe us the whole way to our table in the restaurant!
In the restaurant Orhan and his team took great care of us on our first night and Marie and Lucy on the actual birthday night where we had our own individual personalised meals. Champagne, some wonderful Bordeaux wines, good food, lovely view, great company – who could ask for more? However, Deirdre had ensured that the night was not yet over. After dinner we retired to the Reading Room for coffee and to be surprised again by Matt McGrannaghan the famous violinist from Donegal playing favourite songs that mean so much to my sister Margaret and her husband James. Another surprise came when a great birthday cake arrived with an indoor firework at full blast – gosh what a spectacular sight! Matt entertained us wonderfully and even persuaded my sister Margaret to sing Amazing Grace while he accompanied her on the piano. A beautiful way to end a truly great evening.
We just want to thank the Gysling family, especially Deirdre, the Harvey’s Point Hotel team, Patrick and Matt and of course Eamon & Michael and all of the folks at Harvey’s Point who helped make Margaret’s birthday one to thoroughly enjoy and remember for many years to come. Thank you all folks for your kindness, warmth and professionalism throughout our stay with you.
Mervyn & Stephen

Room Tip: All rooms are very spacious and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dearest Mervyn, Thank you so very much for your wonderful description of the 'Great Birthday Surprise' for your sister, Margaret. As always, it is a pleasure to welcome you all to Harvey's Point and we truly enjoyed being part of the special celebrations. It was very touching to see Margaret's reaction when the piper arrived and especially when Matt played 'Moon River' for the after dinner piece. We are so fortunate to be in a place to facilitate family & friends sharing good times together. Our simple goal at Harvey's Point is to make people happy. This makes us all happy. Special personal greetings from the Gysling Family and the entire Harvey's Point Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed two nights. Fantastic hotel, superb rooms, spotlessly clean, great attention to detail, marvellous food and great service. A very special hotel - can't wait to come back to Harvey's Point. Compliments to all staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A first class hotel within a beautiful setting by Lough Eske. The deluxe room was magnificent with excellent facilities. The service provided commensurate with the quality of the accommodation was second to none. A truly wonderful experience in beautiful Donegal.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest, We are delighted that you have discovered the magical beauty of County Donegal and that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed four nights at Harvey's Point. Large spacious room but we found the beds a little firm but was not a major problem. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Great place to relax and is central for shopping. We will definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Doreen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you. In relation to the beds, we could easily organise an extra luxurious mattress- topper for you on your next visit. Just let us know when you are booking a return visit. Many thanks for your high recommendation. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Too much to cram into this but rooms are the biggest and best I have ever seen. Attentio to detail is amazing, we stayed in an executive room and its honestly bigger that the whole downstairs of our house in bray. Staff out of this world as well as food, location unreal, definately coming back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Ed, Thank you very much for your kind words following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We appreciate all guest feedback and it certainly encourages us to continue in our delivery of excellence in every aspect of the hotel. We hope you will come back and visit us soon again. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Harveys Point in mid April, we were fortunate to have lovely weather for walking cold but dry ,. The hotel can provide a very good little booklet about local walks several of which leave the front door of the hotel ,but the longer walks are a bit further away The staff were very friendly everybody spoke to you and were happy to have afew words with you ,the meals in the hotel were first class ,and the breakfasts had so much variety . The suite we were in was so spacious and comfortable .We hope to be able return next year

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear David, It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and thank you for your kind comments. We are fortunate to have some lovely walks at our doorstep and around the beautiful County of Donegal. We hope to develop and promote further walking trails in the coming months. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Irish hospitality. Harvey's Point is the recipient of the prestigious AA Hotel of the Year award 2007 / 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.