We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is second to none” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harvey's Point to your Saves list
Harvey's Point
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
💚 5 Days in Donegal Package 💚
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service is second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel, beautiful food and fabulous service. With roaring fires, luxurious rooms and staff that really go the extra mile, we have already booked to stay again. Special thanks to Nancy, a real gem who really took care of us and took the time to see to our every need. The chef made me a wonderfully fresh omelette and all the while with a smile for everyone. Attention to detail is this hotel's motto. They really can't do enough, and to top it all off the setting is exquisite. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind comments and high recommendation. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience. Special greetings from Nancy who has been on our Team for over twenty years, from Christopher, our charming Chef plus of course everyone at Harvey's Point. Hope to see you soon again. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,329
    184
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
393
1,538
36
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

we try to get to harveys point at least twice a year, for our wedding anniversary in february and in the summer. The staff are always very polite and we never have any problems, the rooms are second to none. The food is also excellent, my favourite is breakfast, unbelievable.
highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Andrew, We sincerely appreciate your continued loyalty to Harvey's Point and thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent return visit. Good to hear you enjoyed the breakfast, which we consider to be one of the most important experiences at our hotel. Please let me know when you plan to come back and we'll meet for a coffee or a glass of wine! Kindest personal regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, N. Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Well, Harvey's Point Hotel - "Numer One Hotel in Ireland" "Best Customer Service" "Best Carvery In Ireland" and in my experience "The Best Burns Night In Ireland".
My wife and I are experienced Scottish Country and Ceilidh Dancers and have been involved in Burns Night celebrations for over 20 years. This year we had four Burns Nights the last one we attended was Harvey's Point Hotel. I take my hat off to the Deirdre and her staff as this has to be the best Burns Night we have ever attended. The entire night from 7pm to 2am was carried out with "Swiss Professionalism" coupled with "Traditional Irish Hospitality". It all started with a reception, then the address to the Haggis which was excellent. The food quality and service excedded anything we experienced in the past. Then we come to the entertainment, this started with St Naul's Pipe Band, then Matt McGranaghan on the fiddle, Matt really was excellent, from "Dark Island" to "The Orange Blossom Special" all feet in the room were tapping the floor. Then Gary Blair Ceilidh Band from Scotland made everyone work off the calories put on by the dinner.
It was a pleasure for my wife and I to receive the best dressed couple but even without this I would repeat this has to be the "Best Burns Supper In Ireland"
I can see why Harvey's Point Hotel have been awarded all the "Best in Ireland" awards because it took a very proffessional and decicated group of people to organise and carry out a night like this, and to crown it all off, all proceeds were in aid of two charties.
Well done Harvey's Point, see you all next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Kenneth, Many thanks for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It really was our pleasure to welcome you and your wife to our 11th Burns Supper. You both certainly looked the part and thank you for assisting those of us who didn't quite know the dances! It is always a special night but this year surpassed them all. It was touching to see everyone so happy and especially touching that Donegal and Northwest Hospice will benefit from the proceeds. Plans are underway for next year already and we may even fit in a Scots Clann Gathering mid summer. We'll keep you posted. Sincere thanks on behalf of the Gysling Family and our dedicated team. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A fantastic two days in April last year. Firstly the setting is incredible and has to be seen to be believed with a lake , mountains, forests and amazing walking trails available.
Then the hotel itself is amazing, first class service , food , attention to detail and fantastic rooms. But the best of was the staff, so friendly , everyone knew our names. Cant wait to come back.

Thanks Noreen

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Noreen, Sincere thanks from everyone at Harvey's Point for your lovely review. We appreciate such high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently with work mates for a party. Was greeted by the most friendly reception staff and guest relations. Our room were all perfect, and huge wish it was for a longer stay. The food was delicious and easy to see a lot of care went into every piece of food. Bar was lovely and again the service was great. Will defiantly be back for a longer stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your colleagues to Harvey's Point and hopefully you will have the opportunity to stay for a longer relaxing leisure break next time. We appreciate your high recommendation. Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our 6th time to Harveys Point, 3 of which was over the Burns Weekend. It was also my birthday and i brought the whole family and their kids with us. They thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

This hotel is a real gem situated in very quiet location just outside Donegal Town.
The food is fantastic and i would safely say their breakfast is the best i have ever experienced,
there is no excuse for leaving the table hungry.
The staff are so helpful in every way, nothing is too much troube for them.
The rooms are large, very well appointed and spotlessly clean.

Deirdre, the owner is such a lovely person and a real hands on person, meeting and talking to her guests frequently during their stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and all well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Charlie, We truly enjoyed having you as our guest again and it was a real pleasure to meet your lovely family. Many thanks for your kind comments which are very much appreciated. The Burns Supper was a great night and enjoyed by my own family as well. We certainly look forward to seeing you all again sometime and in the meantime, may I extend personal best wishes to you and your family. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc and all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just stayed for one night and already we are looking forward to going back. Very friendly, excellent room/suite, great food, very relaxing. We attended the knitting workshop in the reading room and it was great. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Probably the most relaxing hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Deluxe room very spacious and extremely comfortable. Well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Janette, We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Harvey's Point. The Knitting Workshop was a great success and we hope to do more of them later in the year. We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing leisure break sometime. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Irish hospitality. Harvey's Point is the recipient of the prestigious AA Hotel of the Year award 2007 / 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.