We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a king and queen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's Point

Save Saved
You added Harvey's Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harvey's Point
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
❉ BOOK NOW & SAVE ! ❉
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Donegal Town
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Felt like a king and queen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thankyou very much for looking after us as we got stuck in the snow and took 5 hrs to appear to a lovely receptionest with a complimentry room upgrade to the penthouse and when havin dinner the plate to be decorated with happy birthday from the chef unreal cant wait to return thanks to everyone yet again for a lovely stay hotel is definately the best

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Stephen, Thank you for choosing Harvey's Point for your birthday celebrations. We are delighted that you made the journey even in the bad weather and that you enjoyed the experience. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Kind regards from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,735
    146
    32
    20
    8
See reviews for
294
1154
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I spent last weekend at this wonderful hotel with my husband, sister and brother-in-law. My sister was celebrating her birthday... We couldn't fault a thing about it, the staff were so friendly and very efficient at their jobs, especially Chris at the bar and the young chef at breakfast, they were both so chatty and full of local knowledge.
This was my second time staying at the hotel but next time I wont be leaving it for 5yrs!
Everyone should give this fabulous hotel a visit, one tip though, extend your weekend to include the Sunday as the carvery is amazing....
Thank-you all so much for a great weekend I wish I was returning this week... any chance of a Spa being added, that really would be heaven! x
Hope to see you soon xx

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the Lough you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sandy, Welcome back to 'Heaven'. Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your return visit. Please extend our best wishes to your sister on the occasion of her birthday. We are so fortunate to have a team who genuinely care about our guests such as Chris in the Bar and Christopher the Chef. This attention makes all the difference to a guest's experience. A swimming pool and spa are definitely on our 'wish-list' for the future, hopefully sooner than later. We will keep you posted! Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our fourth visit in recent years and we have never been anything but absolutely delighted. All the praise they get is well-deserved and also their high rating with Trip Advisor. Friendly efficient staff, excellent food, spectacular environment, most relaxing, and good value. We hope to return again in the coming months.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the lake. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Eamonn, Sincere thanks for your kind words and high recommendation. We are so delighted with our TripAdvisor award as it is a true reflection of guests' experiences. It really motivates our team to work even harder to find new ways to delight and impress our customers. We appreciate your continued loyalty and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey's Point again sometime. Special greetings from the Gysling Family & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Having been fortunate enough to stay in some of the finest Hotels in many countires worldwide we am continually drawn back to our absolute favourite - Harvey's Point - Why you may ask ? - From the moment you step out of the car at Harvey's Point, the warm welcome you receive, the friendleness of everyone and quality service from Concierge's, Reception, Bar and Dining Room Staff - it is more like going home to one's own family for a visit than staying in a Hotel. To recognise a returning customer is one thing but when they remember your names - that is something else. Credit to all particularly, James in the Bar, Nancy & Head Waiter Orphen in the Dining Room. Food is of an excellent standard and never dissappoints. The Rooms are as good as any I have stayed in including many 5 star hotels. The decor is simply beautiful as is the views over the lovely Lough Eske. Just back after the New Year Package and Re-Charged again - Love the place, love the people and cannot wait to return and smell those turf fires again! Charlie & Victoria x P.S. We don't just tell Trip Advisor - We tell EVERYONE !!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Rooms but have stayed in several of the others - All lovely but if you can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Charlie & Victoria, A warm welcome Home to Harvey's! Thank you from all the team for your kind comments and continued loyalty. Sorry I missed meeting you on this visit. We really appreciate your high recommendation and it is always a pleasure to have you as our guests. Kind personal regards, Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We got married in Harveys point last year and I can only say how great a place this is, we also stayed recently for a few days. The setting is beautiful and is like being someone a million miles away. The hotel is very homely and the rooms are the best ive stayed in by far. The customer service is also what stands out from other hotels, the staff are always very pleasant and nothing is too much bother. Looking forward to our next trip...

Room Tip: all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest, It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey's Point as Mr & Mrs. Thank you so much for your kind words which are very much appreciated by the Gysling Family & Team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Deirdre & Marc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel set in lovely picturesque grounds with warm inviting open fires throughout. The lake side lodges were nicely decorated and comfortable. Our experience overall was good however I do have a few critiques. I had booked the Cuisine Art set meal for the first night. We both had high expectations for the meal given previously read reviews. The meal however was completely rushed. We had barely finished our starter and the soup was out. The soup wasn’t very flavoursome and quite standard. Also we had to requested that they don’t bring our mains out for 10 minutes as the first 2 courses were so incredibly rushed to which our waitress responded "ill have to check with the chef if it is on yet or not". My steak was completely pink and I asked for well done. Luckily my partner likes his steak like that as he ate mine. Lastly the bill was brought over and handed to me while I was taking the first mouthful out of my desert! I had never even asked for it and was a bit disgusted by this. Surely this isn’t standard practice at the hotel? Again making us feel rushed. We sat down to eat our meal at 8pm so were by no means delaying the staff. Overall the meal was a disappointment and the food was standard and the service wasn’t particularly friendly or explanatory of the dishes at all. We ate lunch in the bar that day though which was nice and cosy in front of the fire.

I will say the hotel reception staff were very friendly and personable. The breakfast was fantastic with every conceivable dish. We weren’t rushed upon check out of the hotel and offered water and fruit for our journey home.

Overall the accommodation was good with a few teething problems in the room as the were newly renovated (blocked shower, no iron or ironing board) The hotel was spotless, warm and inviting and the surrounding grounds were nice overlooking the lake with easy access to Donegal town and surrounding areas. I would stay the imaginative nature of the food needs to improve along with the manner of some of the wait staff both at breakfast and evening meal time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest, I am truly grateful to you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent visit to Harvey's Point. All guest feedback is highly important to us and especially if there are issues, we need to know about them so that we can address them. I can honestly say that your experience in the Restaurant is not the norm but for sure I will be making a thorough investigation into the matter. I sincerely hope you will accept our apology for our uncharacteristic lapse in standards of service and customer care. Thank you once again for your constructive comments and perhaps we may have an opportunity to restore your faith in Harvey's Point sometime in the future. Kind regards, Deirdre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from a two day weekend break at Harvey's. Thoroughly enjoyed it. We generally visit at least once a year & we were glad to see that the hotel was so busy in January. They normally don't open for business until the end of the month but they introduced a half price offer which seems to have been snapped up. As usual, service, food & accommodation all to a very high standard. Already looking forward to out next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you most sincerely for your kind words. We were delighted to welcome you back and to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel once again. Yes, the January weekend offers were a great success so on that basis, we plan to extend our winter opening days in the future. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Deirdre, Marc & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Donegal Town
#1 Business Hotel in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Irish hospitality. Harvey's Point is the recipient of the prestigious AA Hotel of the Year award 2007 / 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.