We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Harvey's Point to your Saves list
Harvey's Point
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
⛄️ Winter Breaks from €69
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Perfect hotel for a getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

My wife and I chose this hotel for a weekend break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived until we left we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is spotless clean, the staff very helpful and the food delicious. We received a compilmentary room upgrade to the penthouse suite which was pure opulence. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to every was an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and thank you for your kind words which are most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again. Kind regards from Deirdre & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,069
    165
    40
    21
    9
See reviews for
352
1,361
34
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Harveys Point is just out of this world from the moment you arrive onto the property. The staff are friendly polite and extremely helpful. Our room was unbelievable and the food first class. This was a return night stay following our wedding in Harveys two years ago and i cannot wait till we return again. The only downside was having to leave!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for your continued loyalty to Harvey’s Point and we appreciate your kind comments in relation to your positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes from everyone at Harvey’s Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Just back from a weekend in this beautiful hotel,I have never stayed in such a beautiful room in my life!. The setting on lough Eske adds to the experience,the staff are all so helpful and friendly the breakfast and evening meal in the main dining room was delicious.The one complaint I have is the bar food we ate here on our first night the service was quite slow and the food arrived just warm(v small portion of chips with the fish) We didnt complain as we put it down to the fact the hotel had just reopened full time in the previous few days of our arrival.Overall our stay at Harveys Point hotel was absolutely memorable and cannot wait until we return.Fantastic !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Aileen, It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey’s Point. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write your review and indeed for highlighting the issue in the wine bar. Please be assured that we have taken your comments on board and we are confident that our usual high standard is resumed. All the best from the Gysling Family and the Harvey’s Point team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We celebrated our wedding at Harveys Point in December 2010 and returned in March 2011 for a romantic weekend. Fantastic hotel, wonderful staff and delicious food. If ur looking for a 5 star wedding experience or romantic break Harveys Point has it all. We will most certainly return in the near future and cant recommend it highly enough. D&A

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Dear D & A, We were delighted to be the venue for your wedding in December and thank you for writing such a lovely review of your recent visit to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards from everyone at Harvey’s Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We had stayed at Harveys Point before and knew what to expect, and we certainly weren't disappointed. The staff cannot do enough to please, the rooms and food are out of this world. The breakfast is one of the best I have had, the Evening Meal was superb, with quality of produce very obvious. Can,t wait to return. Listen to Sean's tip fill the bath above the vent on Jacuzzi !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
We were delighted to welcome you back to Harvey’s Point and thank you for your kind words. Kind regards from The Gysling Family and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

The weekend was a 25th wedding annerveresity present from our family. Being in Harvey's Point hotel was like being on a second honeymoon. from the minute we stepped into the hotel and untill we relucanctly left, we were treated with such care attention that I felt like I was the President of Ireland.We were very fortunite to have a Delux room at our disposal. I'm afraid that no other hotel will ever live up to our expectations of a good hotel.Ordinarly it would have been a little too expensive as a weekend break for us............however after experiencing terrific food,great service fantastic staff,a room to die for, great area for walks......what more can i say except that I am already starting to save a few euros so that I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary and we are delighted that you enjoyed the Harvey’s Point Experience. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again. Thank you for your lovely review. Kind regards from Deirdre & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Wonderful hotel in a beautiful location. An ideal get-away-from-it-all break. Been there twice & already looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Dear Joan, Thank you for being such a regular guest at Harvey’s Point and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many thanks for your continued loyalty. Best wishes from Deirdre & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Irish hospitality. Harvey's Point is the recipient of the prestigious AA Hotel of the Year award 2007 / 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.