We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN ENJOYABLE STAY IN A CICE PART OF IRELAND” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Central Hotel - Donegal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Central Hotel - Donegal to your Saves list
The Central Hotel - Donegal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
HIGH WYCOMBE. UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“AN ENJOYABLE STAY IN A CICE PART OF IRELAND”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a sizable hotel right in the middle of Donegal. on the triangle,we had a nice stay there and an excellant music night with local singers, dancers, and musicians, and all led by the Hotel Manager, a very entertaining evening. you also get free parking outside, with a windscreen voucher.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    132
    65
    40
    32
See reviews for
80
163
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall a nice hotel but i got a really basic dated room. I was on my own for a business trip and the room was so small it was difficult to get from the door to the window.
Lots of noise from the bus loads of tourists staying there coming back from a singsong in the bar.

Reception had only one person there so I had to wait 20mins to check in which was badly handled then. I had to go back numerous times to ask about parking, bar location and breakfast times.

A nice location and lovely people but maybe not the best place for a business stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I spent a week here. Lovely place to use as a base to explore the surrounding area and towns. Donegal town itself has plenty to do day and night. The hotel room I had was large accommodating a double and a single bed, the bathroom had only a showere alothough I believe some rooms also have baths. Whilst the decor and furnishings were fine. plenty of storage, a chair and table and the room was clean I have to say it smelled terrible a mixture of damp, wet dog and poo. the smell met you as you opened the door and seemed to hang about the room. not sure what caused it or where it was coming from although the carpet had lots of odd stains and what looked like bleach marks too I will share a photo of that. on my second day I bought a couple of air fresheners and that helped. There was a lovely seating area above and looking onto the entrance / reception area, I was able to get wifi there. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. cereal and toast the usual stuff but not so much selection of hot things bacon eggs and sausage was about it, being vegetarian I resigned myself to toast every morning I did get beans one of the days but they were not available every day. The evening meals I had there were fine, a good selection and the veggie option was very pleasing. I went to their candlelight with the stars show and meal and this was very good, dinner was served about 7.30 followed by the show which finnished near midnight, well worth the price and very entertaining with a good variety of acts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilgetty
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just spent nights of 2nd. 3rd. and 4th. September at this hotel. its is wonderful. Excellent staff, good food and brilliant entertainment. the monday night show is a must. one act is three young brothers aged 4 years to seven years, the are fantastic, brilliant, superb what ever you do dont miss them. seven year old plays accordian and two younger ones fiddles. we went with tafvalley coaches.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had lunch here recently. Carvery. Not normally a fan.. But it was delicious. Fast service. Food to die for. Reasonably priced. Only let down was the manageress on duty who was on the till took out money whilst chatting on her mobile. A business call. However that is just rude.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alveston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here with a choir from Bristol I was travelling with for 4 nights. We had a great time and the service was very good considering the large numbers the hotel was catering for. Inevitably, there were one or two niggles but they got sorted out.
Donegal is a great venue as a base for sight-seeing and there are plenty of pubs to visit in the evening with live Irish music, and of course, the Guinness!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I spent 5 days in this hotel on a Calledonian tour. The people were so friendly and nothing was a problem for them.The view from my bedroom over the bay was lovely. The entertainment was good and the hotel was so central to everything . Plenty of wee pubs with traditional music and again people are so friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Central Hotel - Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Address: The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Central Hotel - Donegal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.