We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Central Hotel - Donegal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Central Hotel - Donegal to your Saves list
The Central Hotel - Donegal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Longford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spring Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Central with a group of 22 active age clients from our centre. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Food was excellent as was the service. Rooms were very clean and spacious. We were very well looked after. great value

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Hotel D, Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I remember your group very well and it was our pleasure to serve you. It is our goal here to deliver quality service, fine food and good value. We look forward to your company again soon.

Kind regards

Eamonn Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    132
    65
    40
    32
See reviews for
80
163
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I am a frequent user of trip advisor and have used it many times to vet hotels. I think it is important then for people to document less pleasurable experiences and unfortunately during my recent stay at the Central Hotel in Donegal Town my stay was far from pleasurable.

I was staying there on Saturday 13 April 2013 for a funeral in the town and was up early on the morning of the 14th to drive back to Dublin for another engagement. Upon arrival (on 12th April) we were advised by the staff that the hotel was full for the weekend. We were assigned room 128 that overlooked the Diamond in Donegal Town.

I was not too concerned with the noise of car traffic from the Diamond as I bring ear plugs just in case you get a hotel room overlooking a busy street. What I had not prepared for, nor could you, was that the room was directly over a bar “The Bank” which has live music on Saturday night. We were not told about this by the staff.

On our return to the hotel on Saturday night (@ 11 p.m.) it was clear that that the music from the bar was very very loud in the room. We settled into bed on the presumption that the music would finish up 30 mins before pub closing time of 12.30 p.m. It did not. The music continued into the small hours of the morning and kept me awake for most of the night. No ear plug could drown out this noise. There was little point complaining at that stage to reception staff as I had already been told the hotel was full. Very little sleep was had that night and after the band had finished I was so vexed that every little noise outside annoyed me.

If you are staying in this hotel, please ensure that you are not overlooking the Diamond and are not over any of the nearby bars.

To make matters just a little more unpalatable, when we complained about this the next morning, in the hope of maybe getting a discount from our bill (without asking for same directly) we were just given a very sarcastic “Sorry about that.” The receptionist didn’t even care and it was clear that this has been complained about many times before.

I would not recommend this hotel to friends or family.

Room Tip: Never accept a room overlooking the Diamond in Donegal Town and/or over a local bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is clean and central with views of the river from our room. It was good enough value at €80 for the night.
The "spa" is a joke, so don't expect anything and you might be satisfied. There is a tiny pool and it was full of kids taking a class when we were there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Hotel D, General Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is our goal to deliver friendly service and good value for money. Our pool is 13m. We do accommodate children's swimming classes and I do apologies they took the pool over during your time.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Eamonn Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed here over Easter and were not disappointed. Our bedroom was a good size with a large double and a single bed. Both very comfortable.It had a lovely bathroom with a powerful shower over the bath. And yes the TV did have a back on it but the programmes were exactly the same! I did think the carpet looked slightly worn however I noticed that the rooms along the corridor did have new carpet so perhaps they're being replaced in stages. We made use of the swimming pool which was very enjoyable and towels are supplied. We didnt eat in the hotel as we found offers in other restaurants. we would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Hotel D, General Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to read you were impressed by our accommodation. Yes you are right continuous improvements in our accommodation department is on going. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Central very soon.

Kind regards
Eamonn Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

me and my granny and granda went to this hotel it was clean and staff were friendly we got our dinner the steak was a bit hard but overall it was alright. i was happy with the holiday there was not many activites so there was nothing really for children to do but i would maybe go back overall it was a good easter holiday

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Hotel D, General Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Than you very much for your kind review and I am delighted you enjoyed your Easter holidays with us.

Hope you can return soon again.

Kind regards
Eamonn Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I and my husband went for Easter with our kids.we liked the hotel it was very clean ,friendly staff overall Eveything was good.we could see the view frm our room to waterbus and garden.my children enjoyed a lot.it was good for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Hotel D, General Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed the Easter holidays with your family. It is our goal here to deliver hospitality service, good housekeeping and fine food.

I do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Eamonn Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvinestown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night at easter and were both happy with the place. The rooms are a bit old fashioned and could do with being updated but it was clean and comfortable and for me that is the main thing. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful and also give you a ticket to park for free at the car park just along from hotel as it does not have its own one. Great location for the town, right in the middle of everything. Did not eat in the hotel as breakfast finished at 10 which i thought was quite early so we decided to wait for the lunch which was to start from 12 but we went at 12.15 and sat and waited because they were not ready and the woman was quite rude too so we just left. All in all good enough spot if you are just looking for a place to sleep for the night

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Hotel D, General Manager at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to summit your review. I am delighted you were happy with our facilities. Some of our rooms are certainly old fashioned however there is something charming in old fashioned. It is our continuous goal to improve standards in our accommodation department however this only happens when budgets permit. Thank you for your kind words with regards our Front Office Staff. I do apologise that you encountered an unfriendly member of the team while awaiting lunch service. I trust you will reconsider another visit to The Central.

Kind regards
Eamonn Gillespie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Central Hotel - Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel - Donegal

Address: The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel - Donegal 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Central Hotel - Donegal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Central Hotel Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Central Hotel - Donegal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.