We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful service, bright, clean, pretty B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Lodge B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Cove Lodge B&B to your Saves list
The Cove Lodge B&B
Drumgowan, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Evanston, IL
1 review
“Delightful service, bright, clean, pretty B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was a very attractive cottage with a great view. The rooms were bright, fresh, and clean. The breakfast was delicious. But most of all Joan and Liam were so welcoming. Joan recommended we visit the Slieve League (GREAT suggestion) and when we talked about our other plans, Liam helped us map out our route. My sister and I stayed in several B and B's as we drove around Ireland, we both agreed this was our favorite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
130
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our room had a view that looked out over the rooftops with sea in the distance. The breakfasts were to die for and our hosts were open so we could get to know a little about them personally. something you don't always get as tourists. They also had great inside tips for where to eat and what to visit.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs ask for one of the rooms on the very top floor. quiet and the skyl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cove. It was beautifully decorated and the room was very nice. The traditional Irish breakfast was wonderful. The whole family works together as a team to make everything special. This is an ideal base for visiting Slieve League Sea Cliffs and Glencolumbkille Beach. Both sights were worth the trip to Ireland, sheer rugged beauty!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here in the middle of May 2013. It was our first time staying in a B&B. The home is new, comfortable and very clean. Only about 2 miles from downtown Donegal. We did not get see the other rooms but our room had a TV and each room has its own bathroom. Very nice living area to relax and enjoy. Breakfast is excellent and filling. The Mc Crea's had great information on places to eat dinner and places to see. Liam suggested we visit Glenveagh Castle and we did! He was right about this place, it is a must to visit. We would definitely recommend The Cove Lodge. If we are ever back in Ireland, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed with Joan & Liam on our recent anniversary trip to Ireland. We enjoyed our stay with them. We loved the traditional Irish breakfast, the house and guest rooms are simply lovely and comfortable. The location is ideal--close to Donegal Town, Donegal Craft Village and other sites, yet out in the country where it's quiet and peaceful--the best of both worlds! Liam and Joan know the area and are able to recommend a variety of things to see and do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Cove Lodge owners, Joan and Liam, are the perfect Irish innkeepers. Joan was so friendly and helpful, it made us feel like family. Her suggestions were just right for us. The rooms are all quite nice - comfy and cozy. Breakfast was always delicious. Liam gave me great directions to Dublin - much better than we got from MapQuest. And his idea of visiting Newgrange was right on. We could not have been taken care of any better than they did. A must place to stay while in the Northwest.

Room Tip: Any of the 4 rooms are more than acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stopped in for a night while touring Donegal. the welcome was warm, the room comfy, the breakfast was hearty and we'd call again for sure. Liam made us feel very welcome and the house was busy with other guests and kids and the stay was very enjoyable. excellent value a few mins outside Donegal town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cove Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Lodge B&B

Address: Drumgowan, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, four star, stone-faced country home situated in a rural setting yet only minutes from bustling, lively, historic Donegal Town. LONELY PLANET RECOMMENDED. Comfortable and relaxing accommodation with pretty rooms and delicious breakfasts! Ideal touring base for the cliffs at Slieve League, Glenveagh National Park, Mount Errigal and Dunlewey Lakeside Centre. Golf, fishing, horse-riding, beaches and Craft Village all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cove Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Lodge B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.