We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Market House Restaurant

Market House Restaurant
The Abbey Hotel | The Diamond Donegal Town, Donegal Town, Ireland
+353 74 972 1014
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Price range: $4 - $62
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Market House restaurant on the Diamond, Donegal Town, has built up an enviable reputation for quality food at affordable prices. Fronting onto the Diamond's iconic monument, the interior is spacious and traditional with a clever twist of modern decor. The Market House name originated from the old historical Market Hall which was located in the current building. The perfect place to stop and dine along the Wild Atlantic Way. The Early Bird option available from 5.00 Pm to 9.00 Pm is ideal for anyone on a budget or who simply likes to eat early. Our chef has created an excellent three course menu for only €24.95 Or two course for €20.00. The local trade is very important use local businesses for fresh produce that is sourced locally. The Sunday Carvery is very impressive three course meal for only €22.00,And it's available from 12 noon to 4.00 Pm. For those on the move or need a quick bite, the restaurant offers a Carvery Lunch from €7.00 From 12.00 Noon to 4.00 Pm, Monday to Saturday.
Tucson
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The decor is warm and inviting. The food was good, but not excellent. The service was not attentive. Overall, it was a bit disappointing for the price.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    6
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Excellent menu, brilliant fish, huge portions! Very friendly and smiley staff, especially the lady on the till!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed in donegal overnight for business. Ate in the Market House restaurant.

What can I say it was wonderful. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. The food was excellent, very big portions. I had chicken liver pate to start, the jam that came with it was gorgeous. Followed by surf and turf, Steak and lobster tail, the steak just melted in your mouth. Didn't know what tripled cooked chips were, but they were amazing. And a dessert buffet to finish, all washed down with the house red, which was very nice tipple indeed. Tea and coffee came out with these lovely sugar on a stick, very different, I took one home for my 6 year old.

Was tempted to order the elephants ear (14oz steak) but I would never have finished it.

Lovely lovely place to eat, thoroughly enjoyed my meal I only wish it was nearer home so I could go again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Huge portions to tickle your taste buds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We wandered in after a quick look at the menu outside. Although a busy friday night, we were shown to a table straight away. Staff were pleasant and attentive, especially the cashier who had a brilliant knowledge of the local area and was most helpful in suggesting things to do in and around Donegal.
The menu at the market house has something for everyone. It looks a little pricey but their prices are in keeping with the rest of the restaurants around the diamond. I recommend the sesame seed chicken goujons - in a word divine! They came presented in a poppadom on a bed of champ with garnish with a side of home cooked crispy chips - (equally divine) and a choice of three dips.
Portion sizes are huge and excellent value for money.
My two friends had the mackerel and the Irish strew both of which were well presented, with sides of champ and vegetables and again huge portion sizes.
The food was that good that we were silent as we ate savouring the tastes - and that certainly doesn't happen often!
So, if you ever find yourself in Donegal town it's worth a visit - you would be foolish not to!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The restaurant is part of the Abbey hotel. The food choice is excellent and top quality. Service was first class.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market House Restaurant also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Market House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.