We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bella Donna

La Bella Donna
2 Bridge Street, Donegal Town, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 57 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Italian Restaurant
Glenties, Co. Donegal R.o.i
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“One of my favourite restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Myself and my friend are fairly regular visitors to La Bella Donna and always enjoy our wine, dinner and the conversation with the owners. They have recently done up the restaurant and it is beautiful and to add to the new decor there are quite a few changes on the menu aswell. For a treat this is a must visit restaurant, the service is efficient, the staff are friendly and welcoming and the food is fab.
Having just been there last night I am looking forward to my next visit already.
J

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    38
    12
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“overated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

had the spaghetti was too salty was brought to the attention but nothing done partner had carbonara was just okay

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We dined in here, midweek and it was very busy, which is always a good sign. Staff were friendly and efficient, but more importantly the food was gorgeous, real Italian food.
Our only downfall was that we ordered too much because the portions are quite big (as were our bellies afterwards!!)
Thoroughly worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Call herself a manager..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend went to this restaurant at approx 8pm on a fri evenin,, wen we arrived we were takin up to the bar while we waited to be seated... did not feel welcome at all...staff were unfriendly. When we eventually did get seated, we were put in an obvious place were staff were constantly running to the kitchen, We ordered our food (main course only) and after waiting 50mins for our food barein in mind it was only 2 lasanges, we noticed the table beside us were given bread rolls as an appetiser while they waited on there food, the food was pretty average, we asked for the bill and decided 2 mention the appetiser,she walked off and sent down the manager, the manager didn't seem to care and her attitude was awful. Offered us a drink, in management myself, I would of sent up a drink rite away,or offered a discount rate, overall poor experience at la bella donna and will not be returnin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were staying in Donegal Town for just two nights and while we were reading menus at the various eating places we got into conversation with a local lady who gave us her recommendations.
The first one she mentioned was La Bella Donna and as we love Italian food we gave it a go.
What a great decision, the food was incredibly good and the service fantastic. Everything was spot on, clean, friendly and comfortable. Only down side is that they wouldn't part with the recipe!!
Can't blame them, it was too good to share, but we did get a useful little tip, sorry not sharing it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bella Donna also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to La Bella Donna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bella Donna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.