We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place def a great lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blueberry Tea Room

The Blueberry Tea Room
Castle Street | The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cute place def a great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I wish we had not rushed into this place and taken some time to have a longer lunch and possibly sample some of the cakes they had in the case, because they looked really good. The staff were really friendly and sweet here, our lunch was very nice, we arrived right after a bus load of Americans on tour were leaving and the two gals hurried around to clean up and make us feel welcome. I needed a hair app and the waitress even managed to score me one with the lovely hairdresser siting behind us who was just finishing her lunch celebration ( she had just got engaged) congrats again!
We had to laugh as this roaming bratty child went table to table and licked the tops of all the sugar bowls and stared at all the patrons, the staff were. Quickly on top of it removing all the bowls to clean them for customers (poor girls)
All in all it was a short but entertaining lunch. I had a ploughmans lunch, while my boyfriend had a club sandwich with a really nice pasta salad on the side.
If ever in Donegal again blueberry tea room will be our first stop for food in Donegal town it does not disappoint.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    75
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great for a sandwich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great little cafe. Desserts are fab and sandwiches, etc are lovely. Downside, during tourist season it looks like they hike up the prices on the menu basically because they are the only cafe in donegal town. If you want a nice place to go, for a tea you couldn't beat it. Just keep an eye on those prices!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A unique place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

There is always a buzz in the Blueberry and the staff are especially friendly. The food is always excellent using only their own products or locally produced meats and vegetables. The desserts are to die for especially the hot chocolate pudding with fresh cream and ice-cream which are also made fresh daily on the premises. They also top up your coffee which is a very rare service in Ireland and a lovely touch. One of my favourite places to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for ambiance and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had lunch here is September while visiting the area, although restaurant was busy there was a friendly buzz around the room. Very friendly staff, food arrived quickly despite it being busy, sandwiches were lovely and fresh and came with a side salad. Managed to resist the tempting cakes

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Brunch with friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A very pleasant atmosphere at this establishment. The menu was very varied, something for all tastes. The porridge topped with blueberries was delightful. A fine selection of scones, soda breads and home made gateaux are all very tempting. Staff were very friendly and polite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blueberry Tea Room also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to The Blueberry Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blueberry Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.