We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disppointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantic Guesthouse
Main Street, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 37 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very disppointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

When I booked the reservation a year ago the Atlantic Guesthouse had much better reviews. The location is great, right down town Donegal. The small room and bath seems normal for Europe, so we didn't mind that, but the place is in need of some TLC. It really felt "dirty", it was not a place we looked forward to returning to at the end of the day. Bed's are really uncomfortable. Will not return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    14
    11
    27
See reviews for
3
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. No heating at all. Breakfast was OK, but the lady serving it could do with going on a hospitality course.
The toilet in the hallway was really small, no towels for a shower.
Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a down-to-earth bed and breakfast as they used to be. Stairs are involved, the decor is dated, the rooms are by no means roomy, but it was clean, comfortable and fairly priced. The owners were friendly and helpful, and there is some limited off street parking (warning--very narrow entry way, be careful). The breakfast was just fine. This is a classic case of getting what you pay for. In fact, you get a little more than you pay for, and you aren't paying for the Ritz.

Room Tip: Inquire how many floors up the rooms are. It's a bit of a warren to weave your way though, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Although this B & B was in town, we did not book with ourselves, otherwise we would not have stayed. Could not swing a cat round in the bathroom and rooms were very tired and outdated. Holes in the curtains and the sheets were like tissue paper. Breakfast was OK though and the landlady was very nice and obliging. We ate at the Old Castle Restaurant in town which was excellent.

Room Tip: Sorry havn't got much to say about this very tired B & B. Just needs some TLC and some mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betzdorf, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We just stopped and asked for a double room and were shown the available one. It was on the top floor to the rear. We had too climb a few stairs. The room was clean silent and en suite. Breakfast was good but not high class. Seq consider it a good B&B to visit Donegal town. Parking is allowed in the street until eleven in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Three of us stayed there in July on a round Ireland Motorbike trip.The owners were very helpful the breakfast was served quickly and just enough of it. My room was up in the eves of the house not the best room, very cramped and could of did with a few repairs, door knobs missing, screws sticking out rubbish below the bed. Walls very thin you could here every noise and my room was beside the shared bathroom where there was no water pressure in the bath and was full of toys.My mates room had wires sticking out of the wall where there used to be a light and other broken bits and pieces. its a pity as its in a great spot and handy to the town center. I think they need to look at their prices and reduce them accordingly.I travel round Ireland a lot on the bike and when i book a single room I always get a room with a double bed and pay a bit extra but this was not worth 40euro.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay dont go to the top of the house, to many flights of stairs and no lights were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Couldn't ask for nicer people. Gregory & Lorraine Browne are the most helpful and grateful hosts I've ever run into. They treated us as if we were the only guests in their entire guest house and I think everyone felt that way. The car park is just to the right of the guesthouse so very handy in downtown. Very accommodating!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Guesthouse

Address: Main Street, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Atlantic Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.