We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumps like this Give Irish Tourism a bad name” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantic Guesthouse to your Saves list
Atlantic Guesthouse
Main Street, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 38 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Dumps like this Give Irish Tourism a bad name”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Dreadful place. We arrived late in Donegal and, being bank holiday, all the hotels we tried were fully booked. Popping into this place after an hours fruitless searching, we saw accolades and award certificates on the wall and, as it was so late, decided to stay. Big mistake! The other reviews have acurately captured the essence of this place. Painfully out of date--threadbare furniture and fittings--lights without bulbs--televisions that would qualify as vintage on ebay---and the thinest pillows ever. The shower needed one hand to keep it in place and barely worked. The 'soap' was a pre-used, wafer thin bar--complete with hairs! No fire drill or escape signage--holes on the bathroom door--etc. Look at my picture, and you can see we had a wonderful view--which sums this place up exactly. My tip? Stay away--they should be reported to the Irish tourist Board.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    18
    11
    27
See reviews for
6
44
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creeslough, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It is stuck in a time warp . The sheets were clean but thread bear from use . The Bathroom was RED , There was an old bar of soap that had been used, The Lady serving breakfast was very pleasant and the food was basic.. Good point was that it was central and clean . Very overpriced . It was more of a hostel than a guest house.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Westmeath, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Was here for my birthday,got there on the Saturday evening met by a you girl very friendly.The car parking is tiny.The room was small and the ensuite tiny.Got out of it as soon as we could every day,only went there when it was bed time.Breakfast good enough.The second night we stayed there in the morning went to turn in bed and my lower back got ripped by a spring or some sharp steel sticking out of mattress.Went to tell the guy down stairs and the answer i got ''ok never happened before and that was it no sorry or any sort of apolgy''.I would'nt recommend it to nobody not even your worst enemy.

Room Tip: Just don't go there is the only helpful tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Arriving in the area late in the day, we stopped at the Atlantic Guest House just for a bed. Bathrooms were in the hall - several to choose from - (en suite is available for more $$) and the room was very small and probably had not been updated since the 70's, although there was an energy efficient lightbulb in the 60's shade on the ceiling ... and if that didn't give you a chuckle, the Holly Hobby "artwork" on the walls surely will. That said, the crooked hallways and staircase actually was quite pretty, as was the breakfast room. Breakfast was good, but nothing available prior to the stated serving time - the door was shut to the breakfast room until EXACTLY 8a.m. - or was it 8:30? Anyway, the food was fine and the bed was fine and for a night's sleep and breakfast to hit the road early, the location was good to continue on our journey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herdecke Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there for one night. The room and bathroom was small and horrible. It`s cold in there, the heater was on for less than one and a half our even it was november and about 5 degrees outside. It smells - probably like old, rancid fat mixed with whatever - everywhere in the house.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuvolento, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The position is very central in Donegal town but it lack of car parking because to get to the private car park there is a very narrow street and with our car was impossible to pass through. There is a car park off street but it is pay & display Mon-Fri. The rooms are a old fashioned but not so bad. Breakfast is very fast and not very good... It wasn't very cheap 'cause we paid 40 euros per night. I reccomend this place only if you stay one night or two at maximum.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights, it is a perfect location in the centre of town close to pubs and restautants. It is an older building but full of character. Despite what we had read, our room was quiet, he heard no town noise but you could hear people walk to their rooms as would be expected in an older building. The bed was very comfortable and out room had an ensuite which was very clean. We had no trouble parking, yes it is tight but anyone who has a licence should easily manage it or give back their licence. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a hearty breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask about the stairs if you have a mobility problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Guesthouse

Address: Main Street, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantic Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.