We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First grade B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riversdale Country House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riversdale Country House B&B to your Saves list
Riversdale Country House B&B
Carndonagh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 249 County Donegal B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First grade B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Of the several B&Bs we visited in Ireland, this is probably the best one to date. This 19th century house built among acres of land , set back away from the main road, has been renovated in style. the decoration is immaculate, the bedroom impeccable, the bathroom of luxury standard worthy of a five star hotel. All this is matched by Sharon' s warm sense of hospitality and friendliness, so typical of Ireland. A lovely cream tea was with scones was offered to us when we arrived and breakfast was served in the family porcelain plate set. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Willow Springs, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I traveled with my adult nieces and we all agree that this B&B was one of
our favorites. The setting is beautiful. It is a very modern home with spacious rooms and
large ensuite baths. The breakfast was delicious! They served cooked to order food with a wonderful self serve fruit salad. The dining table was set with lovely china.
The family was lovely and were very helpful with information. We had never been to Donegal before, and it is beautiful!
You would be wise to book this place, you would not be sorry!
Maureen

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I booked this for an overnight stay for parents last summer. They really enjoyed their stay and found Riversdale to be a very high standard B & B accommodation. Hostess very friendly and helpful. Breakfast served on vintage style china. A great base for north Donegal :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Riversdale Country House is a wonderful and inviting place to stop.

Its a fantastic place to stay, clean and welcoming to all.
The room was amazing and the breakfast in the mornings were out of this world, fresh and so much choice to eat, we were definitely set up for the day ahead of photography.
The location for this B&B is in a prime position for the sea-coast and landscape photography, it is indeed a paradise for walkers, photographers and a wide variety of outdoor activities.

We will be visiting Donegal again next year for a longer stay, and hope to catch up with Sharon and Wilson.

Thank you for a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a quite place for rest and relaxation. Also, this is a very good spot as a base to explore the peninsula.
The owners gave us a very homey feeling and the place itself is just great: the rooms are very high quality and with a lot of amenities. Breakfast was very good also.
We had such a good time there, so when we found out we have a few extra days at the end of our trip, we drove 3 hours just to get there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was our first B&B stay as a family ,we usually go self catering, we were totally spoilt by the friendliness of the host and her family not to mention the tea and scones and wonderful breakfast. Myself,husband,and teen daughter shared the 'family room', there was still room for another person,as room held four (2 single beds and a double) and the room was still spaceous. The ensuite was also large with a great shower.very modern,clean facilities in a beautiful large farmhouse set in beautiful countryside,with a nice long lane for a dander,with donkeys,ducks a goose and fields of cows,not to mention the adorable Jessie ,their pet dog,the pet calf and sheep!This was a very economical stay for us as usually 3 'adults' cannot stay in one room anywhere else we have tried in the uk have age restrictions ,usually 16 or less(our daughter was 17)
Ideally situated in the middle of Innishowen and lots of tourist leaflets available to plan our activities. Loads of places to eat especially recommend the Butterbean in Carndonagh and the cosy cottage cafe in Moville. We visited the famine village which was absolutley amazing! And Fort dunree is also a fascinating place to visit.

Room Tip: The family room and another room are downstairs so ideal if you have a pram or have restricted mobil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

That's how it felt when we pulled up to the house. Sharon greeted us and right away we were planning the rest of our vacation in County Donegal. Jessica's review covered all the details and we totally agree. The house is beautiful, the room was spacious, quiet, clean, and very comfortable. The dining room/sitting room was perfect for getting to know the other guests and to swap stories while munching on homemade cake and tea. Where Sharon was especially helpful was in steering us to a pub that had traditional Irish music. That led to one of the best musical experiences ever, with musicians from the Fiddle Convention having a session, jamming with each other. The magical vibe was contagious - all the people in the pub were infected. We came home very late and they left the light on for us. We highly recommend this B & B as a great example of Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riversdale Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversdale Country House B&B

Address: Carndonagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in County Donegal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riversdale Country House B&B is set in the heart of the beautiful Inishowen peninsula. It is a carefully restored farmhouse with amazing attention to detail, set in the midst of idyllic countryside. You will enjoy warm hospitality on a working farm. Hearty country breakfasts and luxurious accommodation will make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riversdale Country House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riversdale Country House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.