We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivory Tower Restaurant

Ivory Tower Restaurant
35 Princes St, Cork, Ireland
+353 21 427 4665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 440 restaurants in Cork
Cuisines: Irish, Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: An intimate restaurant run by locally famous chef Seamus O'Connell, featuring some of the most imaginative food in Ireland. The menu includes cajun, french and asian influences, with dishes such as blackened shark with banana ketchup and veal chimichanga ensuring that Cork locals and tourists alike take the time to locate this hard to find restaurant.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I love the intimist atmosphere.
The diner was really good from start to finish, we'll worth the value.
Thanks a lot for a lovely evening

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zarhee, Public Relations Manager at Ivory Tower Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi
Thanks for your very kind review and for giving us a five-star rating. It means all the more as I see you are quite discerning with your reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    71
    15
    5
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just back from an outstanding meal at The Ivory Tower. It looks nothing on the outside but continue up those stairs and prepare for a great experience. We had the Brazilian fusion tasting menu and it was sublime. Quirky intimate surroundings, unusual but really tasty food, great if heavily marked up wine, buzzing atmosphere. This is be a place that we will return to and tell our friends about. Shout out to Sophia the waitress who covered so many tables so well and smiled throughout and well done the chef!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zarhee, Public Relations Manager at Ivory Tower Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi, and thanks for your great review and for putting up the photos. We've only just launched the Brazilian tasting menu so it is great to have the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We found the restaurant by chance and even though we were not planning to have dinner, the environment was inviting that we ended up staying for a platter and a glass of wine. The platter was prepared with care and the delicacies included pate, terrine, carpaccio which were all excellent. Great find and would definitely go back when we are in Cork next. The prices were very reasonable for the quality, the service was honest and ten staff very knowledgable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zarhee, Public Relations Manager at Ivory Tower Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello Mita_London
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed eating with us, and we hope you do come back next time you are visting the Rebel County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful gastronomic adventure from beginning to end...special and unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I went to the Ivory Tower restarant to celebrate our 20th Wedding anniversary last friday 11 April 2014...we have not lived in Cork for years but have eaten in the Ivory Tower many years ago and enjoyed every visit very much at that time so we were really excited at the thought of returning once again and I can assure you we were not disapppointed!

We loved every second of our meal..the food was a thrill a minute ( I think it is the best and most colorful way to describe it and actually describes the whole experience in the Ivory Tower)..the wonderful and most unusual ingredients used in an imaginative and well thought way..all served with such flair...we went for the dinner menu and every mouthful was savoured.by both of us..I just had to try the Conger Eel sausauge while my husband had the soft shell crab..my husband had the venison which was delicious as was the blue fin tuna which was my main course ..a wonderful fusion of world flavors and color just like the decor and music in the restaurant itself..

My review I feel does not do this wonderful restaurant and its chef (s) justice..I would recommend any truly adventurous eaters to visit here and you will truly be amazed..my husband and I have travelled the world and have eaten all sorts of delicacies and foods of every description and we are actually very adventurous eaters but the Ivory Tower and its super menu never fails to surprise us even after we have been away from there for so long..

My husband and I had a most special night out at the Ivory Tower and cannot wait for an opportunity to return soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zarhee, Public Relations Manager at Ivory Tower Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Finola, thanks for that absoutely wonderful review. You say it didn't do justice to the Ivory Tower, but if that review didn't do us justice I can't imagine what review would.

Needless to say we are delighted that you and himself enjoyed your 20th Wedding Anniversary, and very pleased that we helped to make it a special occasion.

Do come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting taster Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We went to the Ivory Tower with a gift voucher and availed of five of the seven or eight courses on the taster menu. All dishes were cooked in a Japanese style. For a starter we had marinated mackerel - nicely flavoured and easy to eat. This was followed by Woodpidgeon ( never had this dish before) but really enjoyed it, next was a dish of excellent Hailibut. before desert we had a filet of steak sliced very thinly this was melt in the mouth delicious. Finally we has a pear and apple desert wit home made ice cream. All accompanied by a very nice Alentejo. A most enjoyable meal , good service and a friendly host. Don't be put off by the slightly intimidating entrance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zarhee, Public Relations Manager at Ivory Tower Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and share your opinions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivory Tower Restaurant also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Ivory Tower Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivory Tower Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.