We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Anise

Star Anise
Bridge Street, Cork, Ireland
021 455 1635
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 455 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: $14 - $43
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cork, Ireland
1 review
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Superb as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is my favourite restaurant in Cork, I've been serveral times and each time is just as good as the last. Food is amazing and the service is friendly and always a warm welcome. I recently brought a large group of work colleagues, it's hard to please everyone but they were all very impressed with the meal and of course the wine!! I was happy everyone had a good night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    54
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner and had a wonderful evening. It has a nice ambiance and service was great. The menu was well-rounded with options to suit everyone. The food presentation was very pretty, although large portions! I loved everything I ate, and will definitely be going back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is worth its price!
They have really good stakes. I rank it #2 in my experience of my business trip all around Scotland and Ireland.
Service is really good. Atmosphere is very charming with it's blues music and faded lights.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Lovely Food and Pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently had dinner at Star Anise for my friend's birthday. Overall it was a positive dinning experience. The staff were pleasant and attentive and the detail to food was obvious. We both really enjoyed our food and felt that while it was a little on the pricey side, it was very tasty. The only thing that I would critizise about the food was the portion size. I have a small appetitie but found their portions very small. Good experience thou :))

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A great meal reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A group of us enjoyed a lovely meal in this restaurant last weekend. We chose the 3 course early bird and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. In particular the chocolate and raspberry brownie was divine. Our server on the night was well informed, witty and interested, a rare commodity.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Anise also viewed

Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Star Anise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Anise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.