We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overdue Review of an Excellent Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strasbourg Goose

Strasbourg Goose
17-18 French Church Street, Cork, Ireland (Centre)
021 4279534
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 444 restaurants in Cork
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Centre
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overdue Review of an Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have been talking about this restaurant verbally for the last 5/6 years. It is popular with both the people of Cork and tourists alike and has built up some reputation for excellence. Congratulations to Trina and her super team who give excellent food, value, service and choice. Atmosphere amazing always with a great "buzz" It is our family's 1st choice when going out for a meal. Location excellent in the City Centre. House wine reasonably priced. €21 per person for a 3 course meal

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    456
    167
    41
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

just had a family celebration dinner here last evening.€21 per person for starter, main, dessert and coffee & a bottle of house red for €15. food was excellent, service was very attentive and the lady who i think was the owner was very much on top of everything. very cosy atmosphere on what was a wet miserable evening outside created by a blazing stove in a recessed fireplace. we will definitely be back again. just make sure you have a reservation as this restaurant is really busy

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Clare Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent menu choice in the 3 course meal for €20, including cooked to perfection fillet/sirloin/rib eye steaks.

The steaks themselves were worth more than the special deal, with an appetising starter menu different from the norm, finished with mouth watering desserts.

I noted people bring their own wine, so its something to enquire about before you go.

Service was attentive, Will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food at a great price..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had the set menu for €21...what a bargain! I had gluten free fishcakes to start, himself had garlic mushrooms. Both were very tasty. We both had the rib eye steak with blue cheese sauce for mains. Gratin potatoes with home fries and green beans were very good, my only negative was the mash, I'm not a fan of the piped texture. We had 2 glasses of wine, a beer and 2 coffees, all this for €49 plus a tip! Service was excellent...I'll be back, if I can get a table...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fillet Steak with Starter and Dessert for €25”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a gem of a restaraunt in Cork City
It is always busy so book early to avoid disappointment.
The staff are helpful, quirky and so hard working - we ate upstairs and i dont envy those staff up and down those stairs all night.
This has a set menu for €21 with a €4 supplement for steak - what a bargain!!!
Steak was delicious and they even offered extra chips
Lovely ambience but it is not somewhere for a romantic meal for two as it is small and cramped.
Keep it up and we will be back again!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strasbourg Goose also viewed

 

Been to Strasbourg Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strasbourg Goose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.