We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strasbourg Goose

Strasbourg Goose
17-18 French Church Street, Cork, Ireland (Centre)
021 4279534
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 493 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre
Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great value for money when you get the 3 courses for 20 euros option (not sure if it's available all the time?) And you can substitute a glass of wine for one of the courses.
The main courses were great, huge portions. The starters and dessert were dissapointing to be honest.
The service was very good. Seemed like one guy covering all the tables, but it's only a small place anyway.
Bit crowded and decor is nothing and I don't think giving 5 stars is valid compared with other dining experiences in Cork even with the 3 for 20 deal but still a very good spot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    214
    51
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Me and my Partner decided to go into this Restaurant randomly not expecting anything as we did not even know the name of the place before Entering.

We were greeted so friendly by the waitress she really made us feel welcome and at home in the Restaurant,

The food was just so Delicious my main course = Mouth watering just thinking about it again haha

Will defiantly go back here next time i'm ever in Cork

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Accidental Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Fell across this restaurant after a tough day in college (believe it or not, there can be tough days in college!) when we were looking for some way to brighten our moods! Lovely atmosphere with attentive and friendly staff, you immediately felt welcome. Great value and delicious food-€20 for a three course meal with a wide variety of options on the menu. The desert was a bit of a let-down, but the starter and the main more than made up for it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A restaurant I have visited many times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Strasbourg Goose is a restaurant well worth a visit. it is small with a nice ambiance and value and good food are the foundation stones of this restaurant.
I have dined here many times over the past few years with family and friends for special occasions or just on spec.
The fact that you can have 3 courses for €20 is a good introduction to the restaurant but the quality of the food will have you going back again and again. That is is you can get a table, booking a table is almost a necessity.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic in Every Way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Booked this restaurant for a celebration meal. It's very popular so it's best to book. The food was amazing and the best value I've ever come across in Ireland. Lots of places offer 3 courses for 20 euro but here it includes steaks. The menu would appeal to all tastes and everything is beautifully presented. The wine list is great too. Service was attentive without being intrusive and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.
I can't recommend this restaurant enough and can't wait to go back when i next visit Cork.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strasbourg Goose also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Strasbourg Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strasbourg Goose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.