We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob's on the Mall

Jacob's on the Mall
30 South Mall, Cork, Ireland (Centre)
021 4251530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 456 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: $22 - $50
Cuisines: European, Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centre
Description: Beautiful Restaurant in the heart of Cork City...Jacobs on the Mall situated in the heart of Cork City has been serving the people of Cork and beyond with the freshest of local and seasonal produce for the past 14 years.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 NEW via mobile

Have always wanted to dine here as has a good reputation over the years but unfortunately left very disappointed. Had set Xmas menu at 36 euro, none of the three courses were impressive in fact the bread was prob the nicest park. Hake was dry and over cooked and the Xmas tree dessert sounded lovely but was childish and lacked any value. Menu was over priced, staff were fine overall very disappointed but I will return in 2015 when season is quieter to see if it's better. However far superior and more reasonably priced restaurants in the city.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    56
    34
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food, but not suitable for a quick working lunch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

It has been years since I have been to Jacob's but it hasn't changed a dot.

The interior is lovely as it is an old Turkish baths and has a beautiful ceiling, but I did find it a bit gloomy and a little chilly. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, however, the service was slow. Im sure not down to the wait staff, but for a Monday lunch it was a bit slow for my liking.

The food was really good and a very high standard. The place is a touch of class and definitely good for a special occasion place and worth relaxing over the meal.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW

We recently had our Christmas party in the private function room and what a brilliant night! The food was outstanding and the staff were amazing and looked after us all night. Everyone had a great time. Can't recommend the place highly enough!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magical Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014 via mobile

Being a fan of Jacobs, we were delighted to find out that they would be able to accommodate our Wedding. From our initial meeting with Trisha and Michelle we were put at ease with the planning and preparation, they made everything so easy, from the menu choice to seating arrangements and giving great advice with bands.
Trisha's mouth-watering menu had Tapas to start (think crab claw, patatas Bravas, calamari), a choice of soup, chowder or gin & tonic sorbet, followed by lamb shank or hake. Everything was to such a high standard, the food beautiful - we received so many compliments about it!
The day itself felt flawless because of their attention to detail and professionalism. The lovely staff on the night ensured that everything ran so smoothly.
To have our wedding meal at Jacobs was such a treat. Looking for an excuse to go back and enjoy the wonderful food and hospitality all over again.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Christmas Office Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Cannot fault it. Michelle, Maurice and Staff were excellent. Food fantastic. Gastro Gigs in The poor relation grocery pub in Parnell Place might give them a run for their money very soon though.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacob's on the Mall also viewed

 

Been to Jacob's on the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob's on the Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.