We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bar Deli - CLOSED

Cafe Bar Deli
Paul Street, Cork, Ireland (Centre)
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Visited at the weekend and the restaurant was reasonably busy. Ordered a pizza for 7 euro which is considerably good value! They have quite a varied menu which isn't overly fussy. Great place to go for a quick lunch on a budget.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    14
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Heading downhill fast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have eaten here many times in the past but this will be the last time. There were only two people serving on a busy Sunday lunchtime, and they tried their best but it got very busy very quickly and they couldn't cope. A couple came in during our meal and were waiting twenty minutes without being served so they left. My kids were waiting for colouring material which eventually came with their pizza, far too late, and boredom was beginning to set in by then. The food was ok, I got a pasta and my wife a Caesar salad, they were only ok and the food was definitely not as good as out last visit, admittedly this was six months previously though. Chocolate brownie desert was delicious, which saved the meal really. The decor is looking shabby as well, I suspect there is some major money saving going on. Overall a disappointing visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was in a party of 6 dining here over the Cork jazz festival weekend. The starters were tasty however the mains were disappointing. My mum had very little chicken in her dish so sent it back, she thought it was tasty but very little meat. My pasta was overpowering with feta cheese and I couldn't eat it. The service was good and waitress were polite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Love this food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Food in this restaurant is just superb!! Lovely salads, specially beetroot one!! And Toulouse sausage, mash and gravy sauce... Yummy... Also really friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I had a decent Salad in here.. A very average, dry and un-garlicky 'garlic pizzette'.. Bad coffee and unfriendly service. Wouldn't bother coming back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bar Deli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bar Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.