We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vegetarian/vegan food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Quay Co-op

The Quay Co-op
Sullivan's Quay, Cork, Ireland
021 4317026
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 456 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Quay Co-op restaurant has a warm, friendly atmosphere with casual, cafe style dining rooms overlooking the River Lee. An extensive range of delicious vegetarian and vegan food is served all day at affordable prices.
Michigan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful vegetarian/vegan food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

As we were walking around Cork with our Eyewitness Guide book, I happened to see this vegetarian restaurant's name in the book and we decided to check it out. It is on the second floor above a health food store right along Sullivan's Quay. It is not fancy but a comfortable atmosphere with a variety of very intriguing food. I decided on a light meal and had the carrot and orange soup with two side salads which were all wonderful. My husband had the pizza and two side salads which he thoroughly enjoyed. We both had a carrot salad and I also had a pasta salad and he had a quinoa salad - all were great. Their hot dishes looked great but too much to choose from! Too bad we are leaving or we would eat there again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    45
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Extremely good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay in Cork, once at lunchtime and once in the evening. For the ambiance we preferred the evening and (perhaps because we arrived just before 7pm) there seemed to be more choice. The food was extremely good, tasty, well presented and not too expensive - took a little while to work out what came with what as it did not seem to be clear on the menu (might have been us not understanding). Would definitely go here again if we are back in the area, there is also a carry out service available. The health shop on the ground floor has some very interesting things, worth taking a few minutes to look around before or after you eat. The staff were pleasant and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Bustling Cork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We'd heard good things of the Co-op and we weren't disappointed. The food was fresh, flavoursome and beautifully presented. Portions were large, prices were good. There's also organic wine available. The atmosphere is that of a community cafe - relaxed and friendly. The staff were charming and attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Fantastic is the word!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Have been coming to the Quay Co-op for a while but only for tea or coffee, this was my first meal here.
I had the frittata with two cold salads which were a bean combination and a couscous combination.
The meal was very nice. I am not a vegetarian and some of the salads are lost on me but it is all very good. I have friends who are vegetarian and therefore I go there a bit.
The staff are consistently lovely and friendly and the cafe itself is very relaxing. There is often artwork for sale on the walls and in colder weather a fire burning.
You do pay a little more or the quality.
A must to visit and experience in Cork.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Lovely little spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Was looking for a vegeterian restaurant in Cork, luckily happened upon this place! Loved the food, great staff and easy unpretentious atmosphere, highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quay Co-op also viewed

Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to The Quay Co-op? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quay Co-op, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.