We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, but bland, food in fun restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wagamama

Wagamama
4/5 South Main Street, Cork, Ireland (Centre)
+353 21 427 8874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 451 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Japanese, Noodle Shop, Noodle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Centre
Description: The wagamama story our story began in 1992, when we opened our first restaurant in bloomsbury, london. We wanted wagamama to offer the kind of fresh, fast food and relaxed atmosphere you get in japanese noodle bars. We've gradually grown into a much-loved family of restaurants that spans 17 countries our dublin's city centre restaurant opened it's doors in 1998, being the first wagamama franchise in the world. After several years we decided to spread our wings down south to cork city in 2005 and further again in 2010 to up north to belfast and back down to dublin's blanchardstown. Finally in july 2011 our fifth wagamama opened in dundrum shopping centre
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Quick, but bland, food in fun restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Went to Wagamamas Cork for a quick dinner pre-movie. The service was very friendly and fun, and our meals arrived super fast. However the food itself was a bit bland, and missing the fresh herb and spice flavours of traditional Asian meals. Might be that I am used to a different style of Japanese/Thai etc, but for authentic Asian flavours I would try elsewhere. However, for a quick bite (although not particularly cheap) that is probably reliably similar each time you visit, and in a funky friendly place, then is is a good choice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    65
    40
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Shocked by the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for a bowl of noodles, early afternoon one Saturday, a snack really as I was on my own. Fine, nothing spectacular about the food or the service or the atmosphere, but shocked by the price.
A bowl of beef ramen and a bottle of cider 24 euro - wow !
Silly me !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am a regular with my boyfriend at Wagamamas. We have been there at all times of the day and never once had a bad meal there. Its fast, the staff are wonderful and the menu still appeals even though we visit almost weekly. The prices are reasonable and the food consistently great.

One day recently we visited to find the place full of kids yet we still had a lovely time. Its a great place for children and adults alike because all are easily catered for.

My favourite thing about Waga's is how you always feel great after a feed there! Its fast healthy food and easy for people with food allergies to enjoy a fuss free tasty meal!

I <3 Wagamamas!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Tasteless food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I ate the chicken and shrimp fried noodles, it was tasteless!! So dissapointed!! But i love the dessert. Think twice before i go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izeult
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“One of my preferred places to eat :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Yes it's a chain - although each one differs slightly but I've always had a great food experience iwht Wagamama.

The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the food - willing to answer questions and if you've an allergy or dietary requirement there's a reduced menu to cater for you.

The menu has plenty of choice, the specials are great value and the entire place is extremely clear - this is all before you start on the very tasty food. I recommend duck goyza or the steak teryaki soba.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagamama also viewed

Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Wagamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagamama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.