We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected experience during a long weekend in Ireland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Number Forty Eight

Number Forty Eight
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Number Forty Eight to your Saves list
Number Forty Eight
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   48 Lower Glanmire Road, Cork, Ireland (Montenotte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Penwortham
1 review
“An unexpected experience during a long weekend in Ireland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A few days making our way round Ireland by train in the summer of 2012 were spoiled by our stay here. We chose the place because it was handy for the ralway station. The host was friendly enough, the breakfast fine and the facilities basic, but okay for our needs. The most important thing I can say however is make sure that you get receipts if you pay the deposit on your card and the rest later in cash. The most polite thing I can say is after the event, we and the owner now have a very strong difference of opinion, and there is not much we can now do about it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, N Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here on Saturday, 9 June 2012, after a concert in the Marquee. The house itself doesn't look much from outside, and when you get inside it's not a lot of people's idea of a B & B. However, we found it ample, comfortable, clean and Jerry, the owner, is amazing! Nothing was too much trouble and when we were leaving next morning he gave us a loaf of Polish bread which we had had for breakfast and liked very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I was expecting a wonderful host when I booked the Number Forty Eight. Unfortunately, Jerry wasn't friendly nor did he offer tips. He handed us a map, and said you are near here and this is what you can see. It seemed like we more more of a pain. The residence itself has slanty floors and steps. The location was great and we could walk to the city center and most attractions in Cork City. The one thing that I loved about his B &B was the fruit platter for breakfast. It was fresh fruit and plentiful

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here with my wife. We were in Ireland for 6 nights, each at a different hotel or B&B. The guy who runs this place, Jerry, was by far the nicest host. He'll tell you where to go, get you a discount on dinner, and give you a map to get around. Also, it's a short walk to the city center.

I wish we had another night, because he knew a lot of fun things to do just outside of Cork. If you don't have an agenda, plan to stay a couple of days, and hit the surrounding attractions like the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This was my second stay at Jerry's Number 48. He is the best host, helpful, and a great person. I can put up with anything as long as I with good people.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Location was fantastic; breakfast was pretty good; the rooms were crooked... Going up the first flight of stairs was nothing because you were going with the curve of the house, going up the second, however, required more strength. Free wi-fi, always great. There's a mannequin across the street usually, so that helped.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

Jerry completely looked after us over our five night stay, we were made to feel very welcome and NOTHING was too much trouble. The location was excellent, just down the road from the station, we certainly didn't hear any trains, and it was a pleasant walk into the city centre. Breakfasts are huge!!!!! Jerry made sure we were stuffed, we can recommend the omelette made with garlic butter, yum yum. All in all, absolutely loved staying here, would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Number Forty Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Forty Eight

Address: 48 Lower Glanmire Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Number Forty Eight 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Number Forty Eight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number Forty Eight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.