We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One star too many?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Middle Glanmire Rd | Montenotte, Cork, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cork/london/dublin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“One star too many?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This property is ideally placed for enjoying the delights of Cork city and its vibrant night life , yet is definitely nowhere near four stars and would be lucky to get three if not for the enthusiastic and hardworking staff who do a great job despite being in a dated, higgledypiggidy and in places ,clearly dated hotel showing many signs of wear!
Reception is welcoming and pleasant yet the five minute wait for the room turns into more than an hour, althoughh bar area is relaxing and easy on the eye with good view and good food.
Now... what a todo to get to your room up some faded carpeted stairs with a broken platform lift, a family struggles with a buggy, along a concrete corridoor akin to below decks on a ferry, into a dodgy lift with a serious time delay and another trek along a corridoor of a somewhat newer and pleasing construction.
The room is ok, clean good decor, good view over Cork yet meaness and lack unfolds ,Dodgy small Tv and pay internet that is pitifully slow..yet free in reception area. Adequate hanging space yet no drawer space yet this is not insurmountable.Bed is nearing retirement and could do with a change and one pillow seems to be the recipient of an awful lot of Olbas oil!!! So ..it will be a healthy stay at least!!! Maybe after all the travelling a hot shower? No chance as the water is cold to tepid and stays so till the following afternoon.Be careful of the toilet seat , a bit like a fairground ride with a life of its own and it refuses to flush.Anyway there is only one towel even though we ask for a second and we get a repeat on day two but as the shower is cold there is no need for it really! After all the excitement it would be good to sit down but there is no chair , yet in fairness this is soon rectified by helpful staff.
After the fist night it is obvious the room is colder than desirable and the cleaners leaving the window open all day doesnt help matters on our return.
So maybe a trip to the leisure centre to the tepid Jacuzzi and the severely overchlorinated pool and cramped slipperry skating rink of a changing room.Perhaps a hot steam in the steam room?Nope..it wasnt working.At least the hairdryers work and are hot and the mystery tour outside and back to the hotel reception is very invigorating.
Staff are charming and did do their best to rectify problems yet these should not exist in any hotel even a three star..no matter a four star and the problem with basic amenities are unforgiveable and unacceptable.Maybe we were just unlucky?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    296
    140
    78
    45
See reviews for
195
319
28
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I really wanted to come away with a glowing feeling from this Hotel as being the Montenotte Hotel I expected to. What actually happened was I had to change hotel rooms 3 times in one evening. The first room I booked into was freezing and showed no sign in becoming any warmer, the tv was also not working. I asked to move to a warmer room. Staff were very polite and courteous, and took me to my new room. After the annoyance of having to change rooms and wanting to relax i headed into the bathroom to have a long relaxing shower, only to find the shower was not working! Again I had to ring up reception and tell them about the broken shower. At this stage I just wanted warmth and water and was genuinely fed up. Being a 4 star Hotel I would at least expect such basic a working shower and a warm room!! Needless to say I was then given yet another hotel room. So you can see why I simply cannot give this Hotel anything but a poor rating. The staff are amazing, and the food is terrific, but its not bar its a hotel, so rooms must rate above bar and waiting staff. Sorry Montenotte Hotel, beautiful area too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Rooms were dated, actually the whole building is dated. Came back to the hotel after eating out and asked about getting a drink in the bar. The guy at reception was extremely rude and completely unhelpful. There was no room service, we checked out a day early On the plus side the staff in the bar were pleasant and the food was good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

the staff exellent very helpfull to make a business trip as good as possible

food in hotel very good

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Arrived late due plane being in Gatwick, crew still in Cork and plane awaiting us in Heathrow. But nothing was too much trouble, the meetings were re arranged 'in house' dinner served a little later and generally we were well looked after. Had our own 'inpromto' busking session which carried on till the early hours and when an ajoining party petered out they joined us. Staff opened a larger bar and the staff from both companies stayed entertained. Praise for a lot of hard work and good will that should be recognised.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canary Isles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Stayed with partner and young baby in December 2010. Was a bit disappointed after reading all the good reviews of this place. The "lift" (sort of platform thing) to get our babys buggy up the stairs wasn't working (I can't say I liked the look of it in any case had it been working). The lady from the front desk tried to work it and when all failed asked a porter to help us up the stairs with buggy (he did take the bags to the room too which was nice). There was no comment about getting the lift fixed right away, or how we were suposed to get the pram up and down the stairs. This meant that going out was a lot of hassle. Room was also right at the other end of the building. The bed wasn't very comfortable either. My partner tried the gym and wasn't happy when the door leading from the gym to the hotel building wasn't working, so he had to walk all the way round in the freezing cold. If I return to Cork I'd definitely look for some where else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

After arriving at the hotel 6 hrs late due to flight delays the staff were extremely welcomeing and helpful getting us settled in, During our stay we had several distruptions due to weather conditions, but there was always a member of staff there willing to assist us,

The Food was well cooked and of a high Standard, the waiting staff were extremely quick and curtious.

The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable it was the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Address: Middle Glanmire Rd | Montenotte, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cork city's most popular hotels, The Montenotte Hotel commands a superb elevated location overlooking the city centre. Close to central business districts, shopping and theatres the hotel is ideal for business and leisure visitors to the city. The hotel also has a new state of the art Leisure Club with 20m pool, Precor equipped gym, jacuzzi, sauna and steamroom. WiFi service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.