We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and Lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Middle Glanmire Rd | Montenotte, Cork, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Internet Special
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and Lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed in the Montenotte hotel for a few days when staying in Cork and upon arrival the staff were very welcoming and helpful, they made sure that we were comfortable and were constantly greeting us when they seen us coming, the hotel is situated in a nice place, not too far from the centre and far enough away that it isn't but noisy and busy. the rooms were comfortable and clean with a good tv reception, I enjoyed my stay in the hotel very much and would go back there any time i visit Cork.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Aoibheann123,

Thank you very much for a kind review about the BEST WESTERN MONTENOTTE HOTEL. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are indeed very proud of all our team and their customer service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daiva Damaseviciute
The Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    252
    121
    70
    43
See reviews for
166
274
27
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremorris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Mant thanks to the staff of this lovely hotel for their kindness and consideration shown to me during my stay. Their pofessional approach is to be commended. The food at the hotel was excellent as was the service and presentatiion.Great value for money from a staff who know how to look after their guests. I will be back.

Room Tip: Ground floors are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear GerryClaremorris,

Many thanks for taking time to write a kind review on the BEST WESTERN MONTENOTTE HOTEL. We are delighted that you had comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Daiva Damaseviciute
The Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just want to say I enjoyed the hotel and treatment by the staff was second to none. Hotel was very comfortable and the food in both the bar and restaurant was excellent. Lovely relaxing atmosphere in the hotel and I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. Plenty to do and see in Cork and the staff especially Jozanta gave us advice on where to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear 58LucyR,

Thank you for the kind review. We are very happy that you had a comfortable stay with us. It is great that you got the chance to sample our food and enjoy our facilities. I will be deighted to pass on your kind comments to Jolanta.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Daiva Damaseviciute
The Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Reasonably priced for a regular single room. Staff were so friendly and breakfast was a great treat next morning. The hotel is a little dated. Close enough to the city centre but prob best i you had your own transport.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Bozdog,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about the BEST WESTERN MONTENOTTE HOTEL. We are delighted that you were well looked after by our staff. Regarding the dated look of the hotel, we have been renovating and updating different areas of the hotel. We are very proud with the new look of our lobby and the main bar. We hope that you will visit us soon to appreciate the changes for yourself.

Kind regards,
Daiva Damaseviciute
The Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleblayney, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We where there over the Easter bank holiday weekend. I found the hotel staff very friendly and both myself my wife and children were very well looked after. Shaun in the bar never let of glasses run dry and the head waitress in the restaurant made sure there was a movie on for the boys in the evening to keep them entertained. We are already looking forward to our next trip. Both bar and restaurant food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Tunderbolt,

Thank you very much for a lovely review about our hotel. We are delighted that you and your family had a great time in Cork. We are very happy that you got a change to sample our food and experience great service provide by Shane and Isabella.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel,

Kind Regards,
Daiva Damaseviciute
The Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athy, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I received a voucher for Mother's Day for the Montenotte, bought on Pig's Back.com. With great anticipation myself and my partner travelled to Cork to enjoy our break away. Directions to the hotel was totally inadequate and a very difficult road through a housing estate. Check-in was ok, no elevator in the hotel with our room located on the third floor. The carpet in the main public areas was dirty and needed upgrading. The room was cold and we had to place towels underneath the main door to stop the draft coming in. T.V reception was fizzy, no RTE 2 to watch Ireland soccer match. Called technician who was unable to assist. Hotel staff were very unhelpful with regard to unsatisfactory room. We were supposed to stay for a second night but checked out the every next day. Definately NOT A FOUR STAR, would not stay again or recommend. Also to use the leisure centre you had to go outside and across a car park, very cold weather the moment in Ireland, definately not ideal. Given the poor service we did not stay for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mrs Grufferty
Many thanks for writing your recent review regarding your recent stay in The Best Western Montenotte Hotel. I am dissapointed to hear your comments regarding your stay. Emma Coakley was the Manager on the night you arrived and did everything in her power to assist you. The Carpet in the public area is actaually brand new so I am surprised to hear your comments regarding this. As the weather is particularly cold at the moment The heating has been on virtually all the time and the only comments I have had in recent times is the Hotel is too warm. This issue could have easily been resolved and we would have been delighted to put an extra heater in the room for you. We did have an issue with the reception on your TV which our Maintenance Manager tried to resolve for you. The Hotel is built on a hill which is why we have a stair lift available up to all the bedrooms and we have a lift half way down the corridor to access the ground and third floor bedrooms. The Leisure centre is in a different building but towels are provided for all guests staying in the Hotel.
Gemma met with you on check out where you mentioned your dissapointment and as a gesture of goodwill did not charge you for dinner the previous night. Mrs Grufferty I was sorry to hear that you left early but believe you me if we were given the opportunity we would have rectified any issues that you may have had.
Yours sincerely
Anne Bodley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. I stayed here with a group of friends and the receptionist, Ellen, was very helpful by giving us information about places to visit in the city. The food in both the restaurant and the bar was excellent. Lovely relaxing atmosphere in the hotel and I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Fiona 900
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at The BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cork
Yours sincerely
Anne Bodley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Address: Middle Glanmire Rd | Montenotte, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cork city's most popular hotels, The Montenotte Hotel commands a superb elevated location overlooking the city centre. Close to central business districts, shopping and theatres the hotel is ideal for business and leisure visitors to the city. The hotel also has a new state of the art Leisure Club with 20m pool, Precor equipped gym, jacuzzi, sauna and steamroom. WiFi service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.