We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the City, Average hotel, lovely pool.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Middle Glanmire Rd | Montenotte, Cork, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Near the City, Average hotel, lovely pool.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Myself, my partner and my 8 year old daughter stayed over recently to be near the city centre for the St Patrick's day parade. The hotel is old, no lifts, stairs all the way, which is not a bad thing, its just strange in today's day and age!! The staff were friendly. The room itself was basic enough, clean, the only fault i'd have with it was the walls were paper thin, so we could hear the kids in the room next door at all hours of the night. The highlight of the stay really was the pool area. My daughter just loved it. The pool was 1.4 meters throughout, which is great for kids, not too deep and lovely for a swim too. The Sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were also lovely. We got a deal with dinner and brekkie included. The food was only ok. Glad i wasn't paying big money!! The bar area was lovely and relaxing and the staff were very nice. I certainly wouldn't rate it a 4 star, 3 at a push. But look, its near the city centre and it has a pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Erin 068

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay here at The BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel. I have passed on your kind comments to the team. I am dissapointed to hear your comments regarding the property. I have also passed your comments on to our Food and Beverage Manager regarding your thoughts on the food and beverage offerings. Again many thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Hotel as it is only with feedback both positive and negative from our guests that we can continue to improve
Kindest regards
Anne Bodley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    269
    133
    75
    44
See reviews for
179
291
28
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent hotel, 15 mins walk from Cork centre, friendliest staff possible. Stayed in this hotel on and off for 6 months on business, spacious rooms, good desk space for working, quiet gym, lovely pool/ spa. Sinead, Emma, Karyn, Jimmy and the rest of the team all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear BDD_3

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stays here in The BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you continue to be looked after and I assure you I have passed your kind comments onto the team. I hope all is going well this week and that when your work is complete that you visit on a leisure basis.
Again many thanks

Kind regards
Anne Bodley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I found Montenotte in Cork excellent value for money. The staff is very nice and accomodating, in reception, breakfast or in the bar, the staff is very friendly.I have to stay in this hotel once or twice a week, I am a lecturer and I found the room perfect to work on the evening, it is large, quiet.
I highly recommand this hotel. This evening Karyn in reception was very helpful and friendly, this is important to feel welcome in a place you stay as often as I do.
Emmanuel P.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Emmanual P
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your stays at The BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you continue to enjoy the facilities of The Hotel and the staff continue to look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Anne Bodley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have stayed in different hotels so far. This by far is one of the best!
Not one thing which I could find wrong. The most amazing things I would grade were the service, and the real asset of the hotel is the staff. Everyone there from the reception, restaurant and manager were wonderful, friendly and seemed to genuinely like finding ways to help me every time I was looking for help. Each member of the staff was nicer then the next. I would sincerely say big thanks to everyone, and especially to Karyn & Izabella who never got tired by helping me
I would 100 per cent stay here again... You would make a big mistake if you visited Cork and did not stay at the BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms in 1st floor, south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Nari n

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Montenotte Hotel. I am delighted to hear you had such a pleasant stay and hopefully we will become your preferred Hotel in Cork. We look forwrad to welcoming you back on your next visit
Kind regards
Anne Bodley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful experience staying in your hotel recently. Room 242 had a beautiful view over looking the city, very spacious, very clean. All staff were very helpful to us during our stay,particularly receptionst Karyn. She was very polite and welcoming and attended to all our needs and couldn't do enough for us. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will most definately stay with ye again. Keep up the good work. Thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Lauraoc15
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay in The Montenotte Hotel I am delighted to hear you had such a pleasant stay and I have passed your kind comments on regarding Karen.. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cork

Kindest regards
Anne Bodley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been staying here on and off now for a few months. The staff have been excellent and made me feel welcome and at home. When my wife and daughter came to visit they loved it and said it was so friendly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Mickeykr

Many thanks Mickey for taking the time to review of The Montenotte Hotel. I appreciate your kind comments and I am delighted to hear your wife and daughter enjoyed themselves and hopefully your daughter will pick UCC as her university of choice. When all the work is done I hope you will visit the Hotel on a leisure break with your family.

Again thanks for the review and see you next week

Kindest regards
Anne Bodley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a very pleasant 2 night stay here on 5/6th Mar. The reception staff were second to none especially Tara who went above & beyond the call of duty to cater for your needs, not only was she super efficient on reception but she was a whizz in the bar as well. The bedroom was excellent, spacious, plenty of storage, iron/hairdryer, comfy bed, & giggle if you want but the toilet paper was double sheeted soft paper (very few hotels provide good quality loo roll) & this speaks volumes to how this hotel caters for your total comfort! Food excellent, staff brilliant especially the cleaners who excel at their jobs. This hotel is a little bit outside the city but the buses run every 10 minutes and take you to Patrick St so this is no drawback at all. The manager who we spoke to but didn’t know who she was as she was just manning reception was wonderful, down to earth, approachable and very helpful, a true asset to the hotel. The Leisure centre had everything you wanted, and was spotlessly clean. Only fault we found was we felt the Montenotte website was misleading in saying they had complimentary wi-fi throughout hotel this is true but they don’t mention in the bedrooms it is free for half an hour after this time you pay 6Euro a day unless you are staying under certain rates but is not included in special offer packages but it is free in the reception/bar areas, have never come across having to pay for wi-fi in any other hotel. Maria & Phil

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montenotte, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear clonmeltwosome
Many thanks for taking the write an extremely constructive review on your recent stay in The Montenotte Hotel. I am delighted that you had such a good stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel on your next visit to Cork
Kindest regards
Anne Bodley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel

Address: Middle Glanmire Rd | Montenotte, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cork city's most popular hotels, The Montenotte Hotel commands a superb elevated location overlooking the city centre. Close to central business districts, shopping and theatres the hotel is ideal for business and leisure visitors to the city. The hotel also has a new state of the art Leisure Club with 20m pool, Precor equipped gym, jacuzzi, sauna and steamroom. WiFi service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.