We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we wanted, close to the city centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Achill House B&B

Achill House B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Achill House B&B to your Saves list
Achill House B&B
Western Road, Cork, Ireland (Mardyke)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted, close to the city centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

When we looked at our Lonely Planet map it seemed like this B&B would be far away. But Cork is a small city! Achill House is a quick walk from the bus station if you don't have too much luggage, and a very short walk from the city centre.
The house was spotless, with brand new fixtures in the small but sparkling bathroom. It seemed perfectly secure and we had a quiet sleep. We paid 70 Euro for room only (a few weeks before high season started). The landlady was laidback and very helpful with advice about other attractions. We were lucky to find this spot!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    26
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
16
31
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Achill House for 2 nights for the Cork Jazz Festival on a room only basis.

On arrival we were greeted by Helena who showed us to our room. The room was cozy and spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location of the hotel couldn't have been better. Just 10 minutres walk to the center of Cork and also very handy for the bus stop for the airport shuttle.

Throughout our stay, Helena made us feel very welcome.She is a lovely genuine lady and nothing is too much trouble.

Would we return, most definitely! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I had orginally booked in to stay with another B and B but found that it was no very desirable.

I stumbled into achill house by acident when a very nice lady- Helena gave me a warm welcome.

The room was well kept, cleaned every day and breakfast was always served very promptly. I will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

My husband, daughter and I had a lovely stay at Achill House. The location was excellent, the room clean and quiet and the food was very good. We will definitely stay there next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, Newfoundland, CAN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We arrived in Cork City without previous booking a B&B...we were referred to ACHILL HOUSE.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a wonderful lady ...Helena McSweeney the Owner who took us under her wing ...she was a wealth of knowledge and went out of her way to make us feel right at home. She took the time to book taxi's, check out sites to visit and any questions or concerns that we may have. I would highly recommend the ACHILL HOUSE.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

and we enjoyed our stay in this clean, bright B&B. The breakfast was absolutely superb. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed with Helena the first week in September. She is a lovely lady with a lovely B&B. I would recommend this B&B because it is so clean and the breakfast is delicious. The owner is always there to help you plan your day.....no matter what you choose to do. Thank you for adding to our most excellent tour of Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Achill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill House B&B

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in luxury and style at Achill House in the heart of Cork City. A warm and relaxed atmosphere awaits the discerning business executive or tourist, combining traditional Irish hospitality with modern comfortable facilities and imaginative cuisine.This elegant period guesthouse has been lovingly maintained and elegantly furnished for your delight and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Achill House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Achill House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.