We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fernroyd House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fernroyd House B&B
4 O' Donovan Rossa Road, Cork, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Tony and Avril
We had the best time at your B and B. You made us feel at home with the best service ever. My inlaws had never been to a B and B and are now spoiled (in their words). What a nice treat when your daughter made the scones and cream cakes as we arrived in Cork. Tony was a gentleman walking my mother in law (with her new hip) to the Inn for breakfast in the rain. The breakfast was wonderful and Irish in nature. We highly recommend anyone to stay at the Fernroyd House in Cork!
Kelly and Lynn Condon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    649
    55
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
138
345
37
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cocoa beach
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday morning after a very early a.m. flight. All we had intended was to drop off our luggage from the taxi, but Avril insisted on serving us a hot drink and scones. After a lovely chat with her, we ventured out into Cork's business center with information about all the sights on a walking tour, as well as restaurants and pubs. When we returned Tony gave tips about how to travel outside the immediate area to the seaside area and Blarney Castle. The weather cooperated and we traveled seamlessly with those suggestions. On the third day, Tony helped us arrange for a rental car which we used to travel around Counties Cork and Kerry seeing most of the major sights. Our hosts always were such great friends, checking on us and feeding us wonderful gourmet breakfasts. We will remember their kindness for many years to come.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at this B & B appear to be quiet and nicely decorated. The family room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Tony was holding the fort when we visited but he did the job of two with great recommendations for the city (you literally will not need a guide book or map) and a top breakfast (booze on your porridge! bring it on!!) - the rooms weer clean bright and just what we needed as a great base for the city. Long may he continue - a genuinely friendly and engaging welcome - thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Fernroyd House is a very pleasant place to stay in Cork. Close to the city centre and a short taxi ride from the airport. We arrived early and Tony and Avril welcomed us with tea and scones whilst our rooms were prepared. Tony was very helpful with directions and recommendations for restaurants and places to see.He was also happy to ring for taxis for us. The breakfasts were excellent and included more deliciious home made scones. The annexe is very well equipped and self-contained. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: If travelling with friends, would suggest asking for the annexe as the self-contained lounge is an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Fernroyd House was our home away from home during our 2 week visit to Ireland and London. We checked in and out three times and stayed in three different guest rooms. All the rooms were beautiful, absolutely spotless, warm, with ensuite bathrooms with fabulous showers. The breakfasts were delicious! Their menu has something to please everyone, we loved the scones and porridge! Wi-Fi, tea in the room, Ireland books to borrow, lovely back garden, and the quiet neighborhood were the perfect place to rest and relax. They are located within easy walking distance of UCC, Fitzgerald Park, The Cork Gaol, Shandon, The English Market, local shops, and The Franciscan Well just to name a few fun places to visit in Cork. Tony and Avril are wonderful hosts, we look forward to our next stay at Fernroyd House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A very friendly welcome from Tony, who lent us maps and sat-nav! We stayed in the annexe a few doors down from the main B&B- this has a lounge and garden shared between three rooms and its own off street parking. The room was well equipped and very comfortable with one of the best B&B showers we have ever come across. Free Wi-Fi.

Yes, you have to go back to the main B&B for breakfast, but this is only 20 or 30 paces down the road so is no great issue, and the breakfast is certainly worth it- a wide choice. The poached egg with Ballymaloe sauce comes highly recommended. We were also fortunate to arrive just as Avril had completed a new batch of home made scones.

Close to the university, a ten or so minute walk into the city centre.

Will definitely stay here again next time we come to Cork.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerlingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night in April 2013.
The B&B is located very central, in a 10 minutes walking distance from the city center of Cork. Nevertheless the location is very quiet and situated next to a small river. The owner was very friendly and very helpful concerning the sites in town and offered his advice for our tour planning. The room was clean and very comfortable, bathroom ensuite. The breakfast was freshly prepared and cooked with love: You must try the scones!
Fernroyd House is always worth a stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fernroyd House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernroyd House B&B

Address: 4 O' Donovan Rossa Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernroyd House is a Family Run B and B offering top class accommodation and personal service. Situated next to the University and just a 12 minute walk to the City Centre. Separate newly built house next door to main B and B suitable to groups and couples with four rooms all en-suite and Resisdents lounge and garden area for Guest use. Choice of freshly cooked breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernroyd House Bed And Breakfast
Fernroyd House Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernroyd House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fernroyd House B&B to your Saves list