We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel we've stayed in by far - website pictures don't do it justice !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The River Lee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The River Lee Hotel to your Saves list
The River Lee Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Road | (Centre), Cork, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Hotel we've stayed in by far - website pictures don't do it justice !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed for three nights from 22nd May to 25th May in this beautiful hotel.

We were made to feel very welcome by the staff from the minute we arrived. The staff were always very helpful throughout our stay when we needed any assitance with directions etc and help with places to go.

The hotel location is ideal for the city centre, not too near to be noisy at night, but only a five minute walk to the bars and shops.

We were room only so didn't try the breakfast, the restaurant was closed until Tuesday for evening dinners, but we did try various items from the bar / lunch menu which were all lovely.

The rooms were spacious (we had two double beds) and very clean, the bathrooms were beautiful and the separate shower and bath was also an added bonus. The floor to ceiling windows are excellent and gave us great views over the river.

Not sure why this was number 6 on trip advisor of the hotels in Cork, from our experience we would rate is as number 1 and would highly recommend this hotel, we cannot wait to return to it at some point in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlaOCallaghan, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read your recent review. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our staff and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cork in the near future. Please contact myself directly for any reservation enquiries and I would be delighted to make arrangements on your behalf.
Kind Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
ruairi_oconnor@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,446
    423
    65
    39
    20
See reviews for
392
786
75
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

we stayed at this hotel by looking at trip advisor site, we booked a romantic break which consisted of bed breakfast and evening meal on one night plus champagne stawberries and chocolates, fantastic room we got the one which is diplayed on the web site, we also got the use of the executive lounge which was lovely, food great, drinks are the same price as cork pubs, pool etc., lovely, overall we had a fantastic stay, wiil recomend, we would also go back, the staff also couldnt do enough for you.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlaOCallaghan, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you and your husband had an enjoyable time here in Cork City, and that you were able to make the most of what our hotel has to offer. We would love to welcome you back when you are next visiting Cork. Please contact me directly for any future reservations and I would be delighted to assist you.
Kind Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
ruairi_oconnor@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
467 helpful votes 467 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Its hard to say exactly why - but I really loved this hotel.
Two days earlier i was at the Holiday Inn at Heathrow - the one at jct 4 on M4 , the reception area was full of posters telling me how important i was, how every member of staff was committed to giving outstanding service & I would discover new toiletries in my bathroom.
The River Lee had none of that I was left to discover that i was actually treated as important, the staff really were friendly & helpful, the bathroom had large fluffy towels,the breakfast was fantastic, my room was left so tidy I thought they must have had some kind of Butler service. The room was large with 2 King Size beds & tastefully furnished.
We had a business session booked & again the service was just fantastic.
I was so impressed that on one occassion walking past reception when one of the charming receptionists enquired "how are you" I just had to tell her " I am great - I love this hotel" - the look on her face was just wonderful, you would have thought she owned the hotel.
My only complaint & its a small one - the mini bar looks like a fridge but it isnt - why would u want to pay mini bar prices for warm drinks?
This is a great example of how a hotel should be run - well done everyone.
By the way - I was there to run a Customer Service course - not I hasten to add for the staff of the River LeeHotel

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlaOCallaghan, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. I really appreciate your kind comments in relation to our facilites and customer service. We really do pride ourselves on our staff and we strive to deliver a memorable luxury experience to each of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I would be delighted to personally arrange your reservation.
Kind Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
ruairi_oconnor@doylecollection .com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I booked the hotel because I liked the personal responses from the manager on tripadvisor and the many suggestions of the friendliness of the staff! My initial impression was not good - the receptionist was efficient but didn't engage in any welcoming small talk ('Have you had a pleasant journey?' 'Have you been to Cork before?' - any such chatty question would have sufficed). However, I subsequently realised that every other staff member was friendly, including breakfast staff, bistro staff, cleaning staff and all the other staff on reception.

The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the shower was excellent. Breakfast was truly one of the best I've ever encountered in a hotel. And once I figured out that I needed to use the lead which I found in a drawer, the internet worked well.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlaOCallaghan, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel and thank you for kind comments in relation to our team and facilities. I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance with future bookings.
Kind Regards,
Rauiri O'Connor
General Manager
ruairi_oconnor@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

I was here for a business trip in March and had a very comfortable stay. The hotel is very modern and luxurious, there was good underground free parking.

I was only here for one midweek night and it was out of season so it was very good value but I'd definitely stay here again for leisure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlaOCallaghan, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. We hope to welcome back to The River Lee Hotel in the near future. Please contact me directly and I would be delighted to make any future reservations on your behalf.
Kind Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
ruairi_oconnor@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

From the minute we arrived we were made feel at home ciara behind the desk came out right away to help us with our luggage she was so polite and very helpful throughout our stay nothing was to much for her , breakfast food was outstanding such a great variety, Overall my experience in this hotel was really good and the mangement should be so proud of the staff in all the departments of the hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlaOCallaghan, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review and your lovely comments in relation to our staff especially Ciara. It is wonderful to get such positive feedback. We are very proud of our staff and indeed of the product we provide.
Should you be planning a return visit to Cork then please do not hesitate to contact me and I would be delighted to arrange the reservationon your behalf.
Kind Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
ruairi_oconnor@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

This hotel re-branded recently and few people knew this as we got lost one day and we had difficulty explaining which hotel we were staying in.. I'm quite sure many people will know the brand soon as it is a great hotel to stay in. Hot towels, great rooms, very good upgrade cost, which gets you free use of exec lounge with water, fruit juices, fruit and even pastries all included, and a lovely space to chill, watch TV or read The food in the restaurant is very very good. The gym, pool and spa fantastic. The standard of massage top knotch. Whenever I'm in Cork city again I would not hesitate to stay here as long as they keep offering good package deals and maintain this high level of hospitality. It was also busy mid-week, so always a good sign

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlaOCallaghan, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the our facilities and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I would be happy to personally arrange your reservation.
Kind Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
ruairi_oconnor@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The River Lee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee Hotel

Address: Western Road | (Centre), Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee Hotel is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the City has to offer. The Hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none.From our superb Fitness Centre and magnificent Urban Escape Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee Hotel. Truly, The River Lee Hotel is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Jurys Doyle, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The River Lee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Lee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.