We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel- shame about billing fiasco.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The River Lee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The River Lee Hotel to your Saves list
The River Lee Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Road | (Centre), Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Waterford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel- shame about billing fiasco.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I recently organised for a group to stay here for the weekend. It's a beautiful modern hotel with great facilities. Staff were extremely helpful in the booking process. Rooms are a good size and very comfy beds. Breakfast selection was excellent and the restaurant food superb. We also tried the spa- had a lovely treatment. However it more of a series of treatment rooms as opposed to a fully kitted out spa.

Our problems arose around billing.....granted some of that was our own fault as half of the group availed of the package and the other half booked separately themselves. There were also a couple who lived locally and joined us for dinner. A pre dinner cocktail was included in our package and we were advised to notify the bar a few hours in advance of her we wanted them. I did this, yet when Our group arrived the bar staff appeared very confused, insisted on checking with a manager etc and it took 40 mins for the cocktails to finally arrive making us late for dinner.

Dinner billing was another disaster- a large bill arrived after dinner and I informed the staff member that most people were on a DB&B package. Staff member insisted that all guests produce a voucher they we're given at check in. Many had to return to their rooms for this. One lady couldn't find hers and staff insisted she sign to charge the meal to her room so she could discuss it with a manager in the morning. We paid the drinks bill there. The whole fiasco took over an hour to sort and really impacted on our evening. The restaurant staff to be fair were very efficient and good but were clearly terrified of their manager who they had to constantly check with- even though the management were nowhere to be seen. I understand that payment has to be sorted but I would've assumed in a hotel such as this their computer system should've has all those details and avoided the very embarrassing situation of guests being accused of not paying!

The following morning at checkout 2 meals had been added to my bill- again I had to sort this. A manager did come out and I explained my frustration around all of the billing issues. He did apologise profusely and explained that their national computer system had crashed the previous day which caused all the chaos. I appreciated the apology but unfortunately the damage was done!

All I all I would still say it was a lovely hotel and would return as a couple but after all that hassle I'd be slow to recommend for a group.

Room Tip: Request river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear mags29waterford,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The River Lee Hotel.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback regarding your booking experience with our reservation team, your positive room experience and your Spa experience. However, I truly apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and your group due to our system crashing I assure you it is not a regular occurrence and again I apologise for the impact it had on your billing experience.
I am currently looking into our group package options to ensure billing is a hassle free experience throughout for our guests while they are redeeming their vouchers.

Again I do apologise for your billing experience and I am looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

renewed apologies,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    400
    63
    39
    18
See reviews for
361
725
72
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed over Easter 2014. We arrived at the bus station and walked to the hotel it's slightly out of the main city but is a comfortable 15 min walk. The hotel reception is smart light and clean as are all communal areas, reception staff are extremely friendly and genuinely helpful. Quick and prompt service.
Our room was clean and spacious, lots of room to move around with a reading area and desk. The room had all mod cons available inc. aircon. The bathroom was large and clean with a bath and shower cubical. There was tea/coffee facilities and water. Beds were comfortable clean and tidy.
The restaurant was busy when we went, and the staff were perhaps a little rushed. The food was great quality and well presented, but lacked a little in the service and waiting times for food. The bar area was fantastic, great outdoor seating area over looking the river, great atmosphere and good table service. Bar food also available.
The pool area was again, clean and tidy. Was busy with children but had dedicated swimming lanes, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. All free for guests, however you must wear a swimming cap so don't forget to take one, or you can buy one there for €2.50.
Over all enjoyable stay and would certainly stay again, excellent value for money and fairly good location. We didn't have children, but did note that they were well catered for and welcomed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Lynsey K,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Easter break with us and that you had the opportunity to explore all our facilities in the hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback from check in to check out.
We do hope to welcome you back again to The River Lee Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at the River Lee this year, we booked it over the internet, which included breakfast and parking in the price. Upon arrival she informed us that breakfast was not included and that, that always happens on the internet. As if the price wasnt high enough we were extemely disapointed with that and she offered no alternative.

Also while using the lesuire centre we were given dirty towels with residue of make up or tan on them, not a great experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Amy O,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The River Lee Hotel.

I do apologise for the inconvenience caused to you on check in unfortunately we are unable to change third party bookings as you have agreed to the terms and conditions of that particular website. We do offer a breakfast at a reduced price of €12.50 to guests on Room Only rates if guests wish to book last minute breakfasts on check in.

I truly apologise for your experience in our leisure centre and I informed the manager of your feedback.

renewed apologies,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Absolutely great hotel from top to bottom, great rooms, pool, location, bar, food. Stayed with two kids, a 2 and 4 year old. Enjoyed the pool, had food in the bar, Its a 10 mins walk to Cork city center.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Robbie D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and you all had the opportunity explore our facilities especially NRG fitness centre for the children.

We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back again to The River Lee Hotel.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have spent only two nights ast The River Lee hotel in Cork and everything was very well. It is 10 minutes walking from the Old English Market and downtown area. Breakfast it cost 12 euro but it is worth. A great selection of continental and Irish food. The service is excellent. I had dinner at the restaurant and it was great. The bar as well is very good.

Room Tip: My room was at the 4th floor and I had a great view over Cork.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Ana K,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed our culinary delights during breakfast and dinner- our Executive Head Chef Shane O'Sullivan takes great pride in sourcing our foods locally.

Again thank you for you kind feedback and we do hope to welcome you back again to The River Lee Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Excellent hotel, very good location. We got upgraded to executive level kingsize room on check in which was a nice bonus. Very friendly attentive staff. Very comfortable spacious room, would highly recommend and definitely come back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Seoid13,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review of The River Lee Hotel.

We are delighted you had the opportunity to experience our Executive Floor with King size beds, robes, slipper, espresso machines and complimentary access to the Executive Lounge.

We are looking forward to you next visit to The River Lee Hotel.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was my first time staying in this hotel but it will be the only place in Cork that I'll stay in future. Great hotel, very helpful and friendly staff and good location. It does take around 10 minutes to walk into the city centre but it's a nice walk so you don't really feel it. I didn't get a chance to try the leisure facilites but I'm looking forward to the next time I stay.

Room Tip: get a room at a higher level to get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear JamesOLoughlin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at The River Hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope its the 1st of many wonderful visits to our hotel.

Again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The River Lee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee Hotel

Address: Western Road | (Centre), Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee Hotel is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the City has to offer. The Hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none.From our superb Fitness Centre and magnificent Urban Escape Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee Hotel. Truly, The River Lee Hotel is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The River Lee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Lee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.