We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The River Lee Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The River Lee Hotel to your Saves list
The River Lee Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Road | (Centre), Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could not fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay with my husband in the River Lee Hotel. I could not fault anything about our stay in this hotel. A special mention has to be about the amazing breakfast the best I have ever had. It is only about a 5 minute walk to city centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Mackers 2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.
I was delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your time with us and especially our breakfast!!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another enjoyable stay with us.

Yours sincerely,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    400
    63
    39
    18
See reviews for
361
725
72
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, being only a 10 mins walk from the English Market and Cork central. It's also close to UCC (university) which is a truly beautiful campus. Beds are good and the food in the bar is nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Sacha1973,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your stay at The River Lee Hotel.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and you found our location perfect for your needs. I will be sure to pass on you kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a mini break for 3 nights. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. From check in to check out we were treated like royalty. The staff, room, facilities, food and location were all superb.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The River Lee Hotel.

Its wonderful to hear that the service your received from our staff exceeded expectations. We all strive to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I'm ashamed to say that having stayed at the River Lee hotel a good deal of times over the last number of years, I still hadn't gotten around to write a review. If you are thinking of staying here, trust me, stop searching...this is a fine hotel and you won't go far wrong choosing this. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and when I find one I really like, I keep coming back which is why I keep coming back to Cork. I've stayed in other hotels in Cork, 2 of the 5* hotels, and although nice as they were, The River Lee still exceeds the others.

The hotel itself is very modern, clean and airy. It is not pretentious or snooty, nor does it try to be.. but the professionalism of the staff still makes it an elegent hotel with an upmarket feel but you won't feel intimidated as you would in some 5* hotels... The staff will do anything to make your stay more comfortable and are always available. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I usually stay on the 5th floor - the deluxe/executive rooms are huge and lovely big windows with views over Cork city. The executive lounge is fantastic - nice to sit and read the papers with a cup of tea and a complimentary snack. The odd time you will see dirty cups left out, but to be fair to the hotel, they can't have a member of staff manning the lounge 24x7 in case there's a dirty cup or 2 there. The hotel is only a 10 min stroll into Grand Parade and it's a lovely part of the city.

The breakfast is very good and served till 11am which is great after a late night out! Lots of variety and delicious food. The restaurant is very good too - enjoyed a 3 course meal last time we stayed and no complaints. The hotel's leisure centre is great. Good sized gym with lots of modern equipment and I love the pool as i swim a bit. Nice size, most importantly clean with good changing/shower facillities. The only thing I havn't used is the spa..maybe next time. Friends of mine have used it and really enjoyed it. All in all a great hotel, great facilities and great staff in a great location with free parking. Happy days!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Mrs Lady 12,

What a fantastic review! I am truly delighted to read your kind words regarding every aspect of our hotel.
I am pleased that you were well taken care of throughout your time with us and I looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

attended a meeting and lunch there last week and i was very impressed ..great friendly staff and very efficient .
had lunch in the bar area which overlooks the river and it was very nice .food was excellent and it was buzzing and interesting place to be .

had a couple of drinks after the meeting in the bar and the service was excellent .

all in all a good experience

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Raymond 090,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of you recent visit to the River Lee Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that your meeting and dining requirements were to your satisfaction.

I do hope to welcome you back again to The River Lee Hotel and that we continue to meet all your corporate needs.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin 7
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just back from a weekend break in the River Lee hotel and could not fault it.

Staff are amazing and unlike other hotels, there appears a genuine warmth and love for what they do.

I recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Paula A,

Many thanks for taking the time to share such wonderful comments of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you felt the warmth and love! Our team is our best asset here in the hotel. They are such a great and helpful team that are more than willing to ensure guests have a memorable and luxurious stay with us. I have passed on your comments to them all as they will be absolutely thrilled to receive them!

I do hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday and to see relatives from cork. Central location 5 mins from centre and night life. The room on our spa package was lovely with a view of the river. The staff could not do enough and were very helpful, and pleasant. Food top draw and a fantastic breakfast. The gym was excellent as you could use the swimming pool and facilities as well. I highly recommend and couldn't fault. Dermot

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Dermot C,

Thank you for your recent review of The River Lee Hotel.
I am delighted to hear you celebrated your birthday with us and that you had a relaxing and memorable experience with us.
I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all our staff.

I do hope we have the pleasure to welcome to welcome you back again in the near future

Warm regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The River Lee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee Hotel

Address: Western Road | (Centre), Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee Hotel is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the City has to offer. The Hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none.From our superb Fitness Centre and magnificent Urban Escape Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee Hotel. Truly, The River Lee Hotel is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The River Lee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Lee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.