We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The River Lee Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The River Lee Hotel to your Saves list
The River Lee Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Road | (Centre), Cork, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Southern Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just back from 2 nights at River Lee Hotel - I wish it could have been longer - From the time we entered the hotel we were looked after by top class and friendly staff - nothing a lot of them were non Irish - but they were v courteous and helpful - our room was v comfortable - breakfast was exquisite - such an array of food from cereals juices breads yougurts - Town was less then 10mins away - so we did not have to move the car - will definitely go back again

Room Tip: 5th floor lovely view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Rocket43,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences with others on tripadvisor. Our valued customers are our best asset and your feedback is an invaluable tool that we use to improve our standards and service and motivate our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the River Lee Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
The River Lee Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,442
    423
    65
    39
    20
See reviews for
392
786
75
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Have stayed here a number of times.. room and bathroom are amazing especially in larger rooms with floor to ceiling windows! Check in and out great, staff friendly and helpful. complimentary bottled water, magazines in room, paper the next morning and little touches like that make it that enjoyable . Breckie not included in the room price.
Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear HasnoHam,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I was delighted to see such positive comments and see that we catered for your needs during your stay. I have shared all your wonderful comments with my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the River Lee Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here in June on part of a guided tour through Ireland. Unfortunately we only stayed one night. The hotel was super chic and the rooms were gorgeous. Dinner in the main dining room was good and the view of the river was nice. We were within walking distance of a few local pubs and the view from our room was superb. I regret that we didnt get to spend more time there. Had a drink in the Weir Bar and waitress was friendly and service quick.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear TGIF13,

Thank you or taking the time to post your tripadvisor review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thought so highly of our hotel and facilities.

I do hope to welcome you back soon to the river lee Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
The River Lee Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A large group of us stayed at the hotel for the weekend recently and found the hotel to be of quite a high standard. The breakfast was amazing, really great selection of fruits, yoghurts, seeds, nuts, juices not to mention all the breads, cakes and of course the full Irish. The first evening of our stay we ate in the main restaurant. Sadly the standard here was not up to much and we all felt the same regarding our overall experience. However it was easy for everyone to eat 'in' the first evening as we were arriving at different times. I would recommend to eat out if you are staying in this hotel again...
The leisure centre was excellent and all my family used it at some point, including the gym which has excellent facilities and plenty of exercise bikes, treadmills and weights.
My one complaint (as I am a light sleeper) was the location of our room, we were put in the first room of a corridor (a wheelchair accessible room) which had swinging doors. As each person came through, the doors banged very loudly shut and woke me up. I had two disturbed nights sleep. I did mention this on checkout and was told they would update my profile for the next time and move me away from service areas.....
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for its location and fantastic breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay away from service areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Derryvale,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at the River lee and for taking the time to write your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and want to share your positive experience with others.

I hope we can continue to exceed your expectations in both quality and servie and I hope to welcome you back soon to the River lee hotel.

Kind Regards,

Kind Regards,

Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
The River Lee Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times with friends and also a family getaway. The hotel is ideally located abot 10 mins walk from the main shopping area. Loads of lovely restaurants located within walking distance. The hotel facilities are excellent and everything is kept spotlessly clean. All staff were extremely courteous and very friendly to the kids. Breakfast at the hotel is the best I've ever had at an Irish hotel!! A 5 star experience all round

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the upper floor, the views are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Norma-Moran,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on tripadvisor and indeed for sharing your positive experience with other Guests. I was delighted to read your comments and I hope we can continue to deliver high standards for any future stays.

I do hope to welcome you back to the River Lee Hotel in the Future.

Best Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

stayed in this hotel for two nights this month as we were marrying over there before going off on honeymoon it was a lovely and enjoyable stay lovely deluxe room key to executive lounge and looked after extremely well good breakfast five star

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear LinnySuffolk,

Thank you or taking the time to post your tripadvisor review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thought so highly of our hotel and facilities.

I do hope to welcome you back soon to the river lee Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
The River Lee Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in September with my husband, daughter and grand daughter, the rooms were fabulous, restaurant service and food excellent, breakfast choice and quality first class.Lovely spa treatment!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Liz947,

I would like to thank you or staying with us at the River lee and for your wonderful comments about our hotel, location and spa. It is great to receive such positive feedback from customers.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to the River Lee Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
The River Lee Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The River Lee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee Hotel

Address: Western Road | (Centre), Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee Hotel is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the City has to offer. The Hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none.From our superb Fitness Centre and magnificent Urban Escape Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee Hotel. Truly, The River Lee Hotel is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Jurys Doyle, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The River Lee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Lee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.