We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coach-Hill House

Coach-Hill House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coach-Hill House
Save
You added Coach-Hill House to your Saves list
Rochestown Road, Cork, Ireland (Rochestown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly, Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Regularly stay here while visiting cork, the rooms are big, warm & clean, nice views over the estuary if your staying at the front of the building, the staff are always more then helpful with any requests you may have(Nice restaurants/shopping/Good night out etc..), the choice of breakfast is great as you have the option to have a lie in if you want and still get your breakfast, the location is perfect too,its very close to douglas with easy access to the city and the airport also. i would recommend Coach hill house for all types of travelers

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    3
    7
    2
See reviews for
9
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at Coach Hill House B&B in August and received a friendly, warm, welcome from the owners. The B&B is conveniently close to Cork Airport, and my room was clean, comfortable, and spacious (the bed was amazingly comfy). The Irish breakfast was delicious and I was advised that the ingredients are all locally sourced. As it was my first time to Ireland, the owners were kind enough to recommend places to visit and things to do and gave me clear directions. I stayed at the B&B on my first two nights and on my last night in Ireland, and will definitely be staying there again on my next visit to Cork.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As a regular visitor to Cork, i was delighted to find Coach Hill House and will definitely be returning.
We booked a double and were shown to a very large room which had a double and a single. It was tastefully decorated, with very comfortable beds. It definitely reminded me of some four star hotels I have stayed in.
The en suite is small, but perfectly functional. Wi-fi is fast and free and there is cable tv. We found it a great place to relax after a busy day out.
The owner is a very down-to-earth and helpful person who runs a great breakfast room: delicious full Irish breakfast, and she was more than happy to make any other alternatives we wanted.
All in all a nice big house and a very good Cork welcome. I've stayed in several B and Bs in Cork and this might be my new favourite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Let's start with the positives: the bedrooms are spacious and the showers work well. At 50 Euros/night/room, it is certainly budget friendly. This, however, is a house that is unloved and uncherished. It provides accommodation but is not a home.  Access from the house onto the main road is hazardous due to poor visibility. The facilities are adequate, utilitarian, but not at all the sort of establishment that one leaves resolving to return. The breakfast is self-service and continental, but not from the more generous or imaginative parts of the continent. In the hall was an electric socket that looked as if it was about to part company with the wall. There was only one towel provided in each of the rooms - further towels supplied on request - with a free-standing towel rail on which one would struggle to hang more than the one original. The bathroom was small, elderly, and tired with no gel or soap supplied for the shower, no bidet or extractor fan and no toilet roll holder. The reason that the shower tray did not drain well was not from the plumbing, but the plug of previous occupants' hair. The single waste bin was not emptied, nor the bed made other than by us, during our 3 day stay. The dressing table mirror was fixed, and suitable for those of abnormally small stature, or perhaps with more interest in their torso than the rest of their appearance.
In all, this establishment does what it says on the tin - it supplies bed and breakfast. But as for a homely and comforting experience, the reader is well-advised to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After a bad experence with another hotel we moved to here is a very nice place we were working nights so slept during the day and the owner (Julie) couldent do enough to make our stay as pleasant as possible overall a very nice place to stay good parking good view only 10 mins to city

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Overall this place wasn't bad at all. We didn't see much of the host family but here are my positives and negatives:

POSITIVES
-nice view of the water and in a very nice area
-very clean facilities
-great breakfast

NEGATIVES
-staff was very "hands off" dealing with us; no real conversation or friendliness that made us feel welcome
-outside the city center by quite a bit so its a drive to get back to Cork City

OVERALL
Everything was nice and tidy - if you want a B&B that leaves you alone most of the time and has clean rooms I'd go here. If you want a B&B that has friendly staff that make you feel welcome I wouldn't go here again - which would be our case. We went to Ireland for an experience, not a business trip.

Room Tip: we did the family room - if you have snorers DON'T get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We are a family of 3 persons. We stayed 2 weeks during July and August 2012. We had a large, quiet and confortable room equipped with a large TV screen and with wifi. We enjoyed to have the possibility to eat in the dining room whenever we wanted. The staff was very friendly with us. The rate was reasonable. We would have liked to have access to a washing machine (even if we had to pay for it) but globally we were satisfied with our stay in Coach Hill House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coach-Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach-Hill House

Address: Rochestown Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Rochestown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach-Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.