We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Zoo 20 mins from Cork” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fota Wildlife Park

Fota Wildlife Park
Fota Island, Cork, Ireland
0214812678
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 79 attractions in Cork
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Fota Wildlife Park is Cork's most visited Tourist Attraction and has been awarded best family day out in Cork and Munster. The Park is set on 70 acres on the scenic Fota Island in the heart of Cork Harbour only 15 minutes from Cork City (top 10 in the best cities to visit in the Lonely Planet guide's 'Best in Travel 2010').The park is not like an ordinary zoo; here you can come face to face with free roaming animals & birds from all parts of the world. So whether it's a kangaroo that hops in front of you or a ring tailed lemur which jumps down from a tree, each visit is sure to bring its own fantastic memories.In addition to the wonderful array of free roaming animals, visitors also have the opportunity to see highly endangered species such as the Rothschild giraffe, European Bison, Lion Tailed Macaque and Scimitar Horned Oryx, most of them without the obstacle of fenced-in exhibits.This is the most spectacular aspect of Fota Wildlife Park, and is the reason you'll want to spend a full day exploring Ireland's Wildest Attraction.
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Lovely Zoo 20 mins from Cork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Lovely grounds with huge enclosures for all the animals...perfect for a day out. Keep an eye on your Ice Creams though...you might get a new friend taking advantage.

Perfect for all ages

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    205
    51
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good dayout...expensive though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Its a good family day out...entry ticket rate is bit high,on top of that parking fees too.Worth spending a warm day inside with picnic etc...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“brillant animal park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

such an interesting and crazy day in fota wildlife park, you will see giraffes to lama's to monkeys, they have a giraffe walk once a day which was great, I got stalked by a roaming lama, were ever I went the lama was there, I think he was attracted to my perfume or my be i'm just hot stuff to lama's lol, whent to see the monkeys and a crazy duck chased me, im thinking he was jealous of the lama. lovely grounds very well kept

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Truly a top-notch place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Fota really is more of a wildlife park than a zoo. It's so incredibly well laid-out, with very few actual cages, which makes the place seem very open and inviting for humans and animals alike. Many of the animals are kept on mini-islands, and some are even allowed to just roam free among the visitors - the peacocks, Patagonian cavies, kangaroos, and wallabies. I only wish it weren't so expensive so I could go more often!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great day out for adults and/or children alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

They do a great job in Fota. The park is well thought out and you get the impression that the animals are happy in their surroundings. The staff are friendly and enthusiastic about what they are doing. It would be easy to spend a day here, bring a picnic or go to the cafe (where the prices aren't the rip off often associated with a captive audience) we were there for 2 or 3 hours. It's the type of place you can go to over and over and no two days are the same. We've been before and we'll be there again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fota Wildlife Park also viewed

Cork, County Cork
Ireland, Europe
 

Been to Fota Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fota Wildlife Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.