We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with a great view and well priced!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Cork

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Cork to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Cork
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food & Beverage Credit
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel with a great view and well priced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

We stayed at the Clarion in August 2006. We rented a car and drove from Dublin and stayed in Cork for one night. The hotel was amazing! It is located centrally within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The hotel was very clean, and everything seemed very new and updated. The bed was comfortable. We used the pool facilities and they were spotless. Not what you would typically expect from a pool at a hotel in a pleasant way. It was very clean and well maintained. You are required to wear a swim cap while in the pool. The hotel sits right on the bank of the river and when I looked into the water I could see many fish swimming about. Depending on the tide, the water will be higher or lower at different times of day.

I booked the hotel on the actual hotel website and found it very affordable. The only thing I would mention is that we had a bit of trouble finding the way to the parking lot. We passed by the entrance twice before we stopped on the side of the road and I popped into the hotel to ask for exact directions on how to get to the parking lot. It was a bit confusing with all of the one way streets. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cork. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    467
    113
    28
    27
See reviews for
211
451
73
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

We stayed for just one night and thoroughly enjoyed the Clarion. The express airport bus drops you off just a short walk from the hotel so it's very easy to get to. The hotel foyer is large and modern and the check-in staff were friendly and efficient. Our room was 304 and had a double bed and a larger than average single bed. The room was stylish, spacious and spotlessly clean. Even the hairdryer was good - a proper Babyliss hairdryer and not one of those tiny little things that singe your hair! The rooms seemed to be quite well soundproofed as we didn't hear any noise at all at night (there were a few hen and stag groups around but we didn' t hear a peep!).

There is a PC for guest use on the 1st floor if you wish to check-in online for your return flight. The bar was very nice although service was a bit slow at times. The city centre shops are just a short walk away, just round the corner from the bus station. Overall, the Clarion is excellent value for money and I would definitely return there again.

  • Liked — The location was great for the Showgrounds/Live at the Marquee festival which was the reason for our trip.
  • Disliked — The slow service in the bar at night.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

Excellent hotel, very good fitness area, superb breakfast, good size rooms, superb location for getting about. Best guiness in the town!! Very friendly and helful staff. Definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

This was our second stay.
This time for a weekend break, again we weren't disappointed. Nice room, large,comfortable,with all amenities, on the 6th floor, meals in restaurant very good.
The staff are very helpful, cheerful and efficient. Cost not as high as expected.
The only black mark was our bar bill - we expected to get it in Euros, but they converted it into Sterling( at a rate to suit them selves ). However it was very small so I just let it go. This practice is to be watched in futureThat aside it was a very nice stay.

  • Liked — Large comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

I stayed at the Clarion 4 times during business trips to Cork and used to be a loyal & satisfied customer. I like the location in the city centre and the Kudos Bar & Restaurant, which serves decent Thai food. However, last time I had flees in my bed, which I found rather unpleasant (to say the least). This is a no-no for a hotel of this standard!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Fleas in bed
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryXIreland, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Cork, responded to this review, July 4, 2007
After a thorough investigation following this guests comments we have established that the Clarion Hotel does not have nor has ever had a bug infestation.
We enforce a strict Health & Safety Policy and always strive to achieve the highest possible standards.
Charlie Sheil
General Manager
Clarion Hotel Cork

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

Two friends and I spent one night here last weekend. The welcome from reception could not have been friendlier and this continued for our stay. Help with day trips and public transport timings were quickly given.

Our check in should have been at 3pm but when we asked if we could leave our bags there from 8am, we were shown to our room! The beds were in a set up of a double and single. When we returned in the afternoon, this had been changed to 3 singles as had been requested on booking.

This is a modern and comfortable hotel, centrally located and close to shops, bars and the bus and train stations. I would not hesitate to book this hotel on my return to Cork

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

What a fantastic hotel, have stayed in cork a few times before we discovered the clarion.Located right in the centre of cork its ideal for the nightlife and shops of cork.Catering for everyone from business travellers to families the clarion is beautiful,stunning rooms top class food from al a carte to posh chicken pieces and fries if the kids want! the clarion caters for all.We travelled as a young family and the children were made to feel so welcome,they even had the lovely idea to put little teddy bears on the pillows of the beds when we checked in which was such a nice touch my children loved it ! they thought of everything.Rooms lovely clean and modern,beds really comfy too(very important!)Definately our hotel of choice when we go back to cork.

  • Liked — quality of accomodation
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Cork

Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.