We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Cork

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Cork to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Cork
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food & Beverage Credit
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Galway
1 review
“Great Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

From the moment we checked in, we were made to feel very welcome. All the staff from reception, to the leisure club and bar were very pleasant and had a genuine desire to look after us. Our room was really great, with a balcony overlooking the river and boardwalk which is such a nice place to sit and relax. We had dinner in Kudo's and my friend who has lived in Asia for quite a while was very inpressed with the food, as was I. Breakfast was also very nice. The location of the hotel is a big plus, only a few minutes walk to the main shopping area. I would definitely recommend the Clarion whether your stay is for business or leisure.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMCork, Deputy General Manager at Clarion Hotel Cork, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Dear TobyGalway,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We get some great feedback on our Kudos menu as i believe it to be a little bit different but reasonably priced.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork very soon where you are sure of a warm welcome.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    468
    113
    28
    27
See reviews for
211
452
73
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

After staying in several different hotels in several different cities around the country of Ireland, the Clarion in Cork is by far the best hotel we visited. Ivan at the front desk was wonderful, friendly, and extremely helpful. The room was very modern, clean and comfortable and affordable. It even had air conditioning! The next time we are in Ireland, we will only stay at Clarion hotels! Rated only a 4 star hotel......I would give it more than 5 if I could!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMCork, Deputy General Manager at Clarion Hotel Cork, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Dear jenniferkayredford,

It is great to read such a pleasant review and be able to give such positive feedback to our hard working team here in the hotel, especially Ivan.
I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience during your stay with us in Cork and to label us "The Best Hotel in Ireland" is a huge compliment and one we are truly grateful for.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel very soon.

Many thanks,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

I recently stayed at the Clarion Hotel in Cork as part of a group of twenty. I made the group booking and from the minute I spoke to reservations to the minute we left the hotel (on a busy weekend in June), i couldnt recommend the hotel or its staff highly enough. The rooms and the hotel in general was extremely clean, bright & modern. The staff were friendly, curteous , professional and extremely helpful. The manager on duty Samantha was professional, polite and a joy to deal with. Its city centre location was convenient to both shopping and nightlife. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMCork, Deputy General Manager at Clarion Hotel Cork, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Dear MulligansGalway,

On behalf of the management and staff of the Clarion Hotel Cork I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.
I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were happy with the central location of the hotel here on Lapps Quay.
I have passed your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel who are delighted that you enjoyed their hospitality.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

I stayed in this hotel on the 5th of June and I must say it surpassed my expectations. Everything we needed was there and more. The staff were 5 star and the location is perfect. I definitly hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMCork, Deputy General Manager at Clarion Hotel Cork, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Dear Colm-SRFC,

On behalf of the management and staff of the Clarion Hotel Cork I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.
I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were happy with the central location of the hotel here on Lapps Quay. We are lucky to be in such close proximity to Patrick St for shopping needs and Oliver Plunkett St for socialising.
I have passed your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel who are delighted that you enjoyed their hospitality.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

I have to recommend the organisational skills of the staff- we dealt with Zusanna when organising a family party and she was fantastic- so helpful, everything went off without a hitch!!. The staff at the Spa were great too, very friendly and really looked after my heavily pregnant friend! The detail and service from the catering staff was fantastic and our waiter (Ivan I think) was ourstanding- just wished he didn't rush off without saying goodbye as he missed out on potential tips!! Two of us stayed the night in the Penthouse and it really has to be seen to be believed...lovely touches like the free mini bar, complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates. Amazing jacuzzi bath and a swing! The food was delicious, the views of the City are amazing and it really provided something different- all our guests loved it! Only downside was having to pay for parking our car even though we were guests!

I have used the Clarion in the past for business purposes and have always found the staff so helpful with first rate facilities- its good to know the service doesn't drop when its for personal use!

Well done and thank you for an amazing night!

Stayed June 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMCork, Deputy General Manager at Clarion Hotel Cork, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Dear Londonlady75,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience during your stay with us here in Cork. The penthouse BBQ parties are proving to be a great sucess for family gatherings or celebrations. I am actually familiar with your function and i am thrilled that you all enjoyed it so much. I believe a stay in the Penthouse in the Clarion Cork is something everyone needs to treat themselves to at least once!!!
I have passed your kind comments onto the team here in the hotel especially to Ivan and Zuzana.
I do hope that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to the Clarion Hotel Cork in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Modern clean rooms and friendly staff who helped me find an enjoyable show at the Everyman. The fitness centre looked very well equipped for a hotel and a lot of locals use it as their gym due to the parking in the hotel basement.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMCork, Deputy General Manager at Clarion Hotel Cork, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Dear Yabbyontour,

On behalf of the management and staff of the Clarion Hotel Cork I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.
I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were happy with the central location of the hotel here on Lapps Quay.
I have passed your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel who are delighted that you enjoyed their hospitality.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Plus:- Decent hotel, great spacious rooms, good service, great value for money, decent food and mini bar

Minus:- Paid parking, gym opens late in the morning,

  • Liked — location, price rooms
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMCork, Deputy General Manager at Clarion Hotel Cork, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Dear pg2211,

On behalf of the management and staff of the Clarion Hotel Cork I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others.
I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Apologies that the opening hours of the Sanovitae Gym were not to your satifaction, it opens Mon - Fri at 6.30am and on Sat/Sun at 8am - i have passed your comments onto the team for review.
With regards to the car parking we offer a reduced charge for hotel guests of 9eur for an overnight stay - from time of arrival until 12noon the following day. Unfortunately as it is a public car the fee cannot be waived but we do enjoy direct access from the car park to the hotel and of course the ease of mind that it is a secure parking place.
I hope this would not deter you from visiting us and would hope that we can welcome you back to the Clarion Hotel Cork in the near future.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Cork

Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.