We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Cork

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Cork to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Cork
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Stayed here for a two night break with my wife and 3 month old baby. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Location is right in the city center. Hotel is new and has every facility anyone would wish for. The staff are excellent and always have a hello for you when you meet them. Parking is located in the basement of the hotel and costs €7 per day which I thought was great value in a city center location. If I ever visit Cork again I wouldn't consider another hotel. The Clarion all the way. In fact I must try out the other Clarion Hotels in Ireland judging by this one.

  • Liked — Quality of facilities and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    506
    122
    32
    28
See reviews for
221
489
76
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

CLARION in one word superb, no moans, grumbles etc etc a well managed Hotel , delicious food , clean rooms, superb service ALL ROUND!!!!!! well what does the TRIP ADVISOR TRAVELLER want. PHILIP. IWILL BE BACK TOO THE WONDERFULL CITY OF CORK.

  • Liked — Cool And Modern
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

5 nights stay. Excellent location, staff just wonderful. Kudos restaurant: a lot of hype but food rather bland. Good for a drink in vibrant environments. Main restaurant: much better, with some really lovely stuff, other to be avoided - judge for yourselves!
Fitness area and swimming pool: good and clean. Hotel: spotless, functional and traveller-friendly. Only trouble was check out, but managed to sort it all in time.
Would go back any time

  • Liked — stunning entrance
  • Disliked — dodgy streets behind hotel
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
234 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

The four star Clarion is centrally located on Lapps Quay, in Cork's oddly named 'Atlantic Quarter' and within walking distance of the bus and train stations. The design is contemporary and the large lobby has a six storey atrium. We stayed for just one night in a rather bland 'superior' room, adequately sized, well lit and comfortable. The only irrtitant was a defective shower (staff visibly upset when told). Some rooms have a view over the river but ours looked straight into an adjacent office block. The buffet breakfast was good, with some eclectic choices. All the staff we met - none of them Irish - were pleasant and helpful. The rack rate is exorbitant but we had a 50% + discount to €145 and thought this good value. The Clarion is a welcome addition to Cork's hotel scene. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co roscommon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

Loved this hotel, thought it was a bit pricey when i booked but it was well worth it, great room , nice bar and the staff were excellent, cant recommend this hotel enough

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

Booked this hotel for 4 couples to celebrate my 40th Birthday. As soon as we arrived at the hotel it was obvious it was a great choice. The hotel is set overlooking the River Lee and looks very impressive from the outside. Check in was effortless and we were soon in our room. As it was my birthday I upgraded, prior to, arrival to an executive room which was set on the front corner of the hotel. The room was very large and well presented. The views were great. I would highly recommend this upgrade as it only cost 35 euro per night and included many extras such as robes, slippers, chilled bottle of wine on arrival. The bathroom was also excellent with twin sinks, large bath and power shower.
If you book direct with the hotel ask for room 205 you will not be disappointed.
The food in the hotel looked fab and not too badly priced but we never got to try it as there are so many eateries to try outside. The hotel pool was ok not massive but adequate, there is also a jacuzzi, steam room and a sauna all free to residents. Outside of the hotel there are many bars/restaurants within a couple of minutes walk of the hotel. We ate at Scotts and Market Lane and had excelent meals on both occasions at reasonable prices. All in all we had a great stay in Cork and would definately return to the Clarion.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Clarion and we really enjoyed it. We had a great room on the waterside with a balcony which is great as my husband smokes!. Really comfy beds and clean bright bathroom.

We had room service dinner as we were to chilled to go out and it was really good and breakfast in the restaurant the next morning had a great selection of fruits, yoghurts, actimels and pastries.

We had a swim the day of departure and found the pool area and changing rooms to be very well maintained and very enjoyable. We will be back!

  • Liked — location - 5 minutes walk from Patrick Street
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Cork

Address: Lapps Quay, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cork
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cork
Cork Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.