We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reidys Wine Vault Bar

Reidys Wine Vault Bar
Western Road, Cork, Ireland
(021) 4275751
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 493 Restaurants in Cork
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I spent most of last Saturday night in this bar - we loved it! There was a good selection of ales and I was able to have a few glasses of Prosecco, fantastic - 13.50 euros for a pint and a glass of fizz which is expensive compared to home, but seemed the average in Cork.

The barman was so friendly - had a great night here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We popped in here after dinner on Saturday night, it had a great atmosphere, not too busy, the barman was superb and this bar made our weekend in Cork!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Traditional Irish bar + food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Over the road from Lancaster Lodge this is a very pleasant traditional Irish pub with friendly locals. Excellent ales and stouts and better than average pub grub. Unfortunately not open all day but a very pleasant place to spend the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish local, with very decent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The seafood chowder on the chalkboard outside tempted my wife and I in, and John's warm welcome had us sitting down to try it right away, accompanied by two of the three stouts on tap. The chowder and Irish brown bread was excellent. We were back twice more, the last to watch Cork go down to defeat to Clare in the Hurling championship (accompanied by helpful commentary by John since we hadn't a clue what hurling was, and were mighty impressed by the game). No matter about the loss--after the game we tucked into hearty plates of bacon and cabbage (me) and more seafood chowder (my wife), and more stout (we ended up putting Murphy's at the top of our list). The food was unpretentious, tasty Irish pub grub, and the setting (as others have noted) is classic. Seems only open in the evenings, however, after about 5:00 pm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful classic Irish pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Spending a week settling our daughter in at University College Cork, we came across this pub near campus and our B&B. The back bar would put some cathedral altars to shame. It's gorgeous. The seafood chowder was good, there is Murphys (brewed in Cork) and many other beers on tap. The bartender, John, gave lots of helpful information about the city. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reidys Wine Vault Bar also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Reidys Wine Vault Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reidys Wine Vault Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.