We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, fantastic value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orso

Orso
8 Pembroke street | Cork, Cork, Ireland
+353 21 243 8000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 457 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We serve exciting food with bold flavours in the heart of the city. Open from 8am, 6 days per week. We serve our own roast of coffee and a broad Mediterranean menu, amazing pastries, an exciting wine list and our own beer.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food, fantastic value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I visited recently with my wife and was blown away by the quality of the service and the food.

The menu is small but varied with a North African influence. The restaurant itself is tiny but that's not really a problem as it has a cozy atmosphere. The food is first class, this is one of the best restaurants in Cork in my opinion and it is superb value.

I would advise booking in advance, we didn't and waited roughly an hour for a table. This wasn't a big deal for us as we went for a drink nearby and got a phone call when the table was ready.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    64
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Like orso very much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Very nice food. Fresh and chef like to cook. Staff was nice helpful. Not expensive. My friend also like food very much. Happy to come and eat nice food :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday night with three friends. Restaurant doesn't take bookings, so we waited(in wine bar next doo) just need the hour for a table. We'll worth the wait, from start to finish the staff&service were excellent, huge selection on the menu, I wanted everything. Between us we had the monkfish, beef patties and vegetable fritters, all delicious and great flavours in all the dishes. Great selection of wines and desserts. It's a small, cute restaurant with a great atmosphere...can't wait to go back for more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic, affordable and bijoux!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

If you want something different in a cosy atmosphere then Orso is it! the food is unique and delicious and great value. make sure you go early as its walk-in only!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Something Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Lovely place with great service, something a little different for Cork City - menu could do with being changed up more often but always get a great meal here. Yum!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orso also viewed

Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.