We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and reasonable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Wife

The Fish Wife
45A McCurtain Street | Cork, Cork, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 451 Restaurants in Cork
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Irish, Fish & Chips, Fast Food, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Street Food, Takeout
Description: The Fish Wife is a new Take away on the Cork scene. the Fish Wife prides itself on quality locally sourced fresh food. Burgers are produced daily by the local butcher. Chips are cut daily in the shop and fish are sourced locally. Specials vary depending on availabilty. Shop is charming, quirky and homely. Small but cute!!
Foxford, Ireland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Nice and reasonable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I had the haddock and chips with mashed peas. It was very good. There are 4 chairs in the restaurant as it functions more as a takeaway. Great for lunch!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    27
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE best chips I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were staying in a hotel nearby and arrived late. The porter at the hotel recommended this place. We placed our order and had a pint of beamish in the pub opposite where they deliver. Within ten mins our food arrived and they were without a doubt the best chips I've ever had. I ordered the scampi and chips. The portions were huge and the scampi was crispy and juicy inside. The meal also included mushy peas and tartare sauce. The prices were slightly higher than your average chip shop, but still cheaper than a restaurant, and very tasty. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Have a Pint with it! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stopped into this lovely chippie as it was so close to our Hotel and we were very tired! They advised us to pop over to the Pub (The Cork Arms - lovely) and sit down with a pint whilst they made up our food and brought it over to us. About 10 minutes later they brought over our delicious food in huge takeaway containers!

We ordered to fish and chips, the smoked haddock and the plaice. Both arrived with a huge amount of delicious chunky handcut chips, mushy peas and garlic mayonnaise and tartare sauce. It was absolutely delicious and to be able to sit in the Pub with a pint and eat our dinner rather than returning to our hotel room was lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

it was late and all restaurant were closed, so off to the fish and chip shop and when I said that would be nice to have a drink with it the host suggested to go to pub across the road that they would bring the meal there when ready !

that i call service, i enjoyed my fish and chip, one of the best I ever had, with a nice pint !

the batter was very light and the fish cooked to perfection, moist and crumbly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

A friend told me to try this place and she was so right the chips were bloody amazing!!! Will definitely be going again soon!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Wife also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Wife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Wife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.