We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fun and adventure in natural surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyhass Lakes Activity Centre, Fishing & Wakepark

Ballyhass Lakes Activity Centre, Fishing & Wakepark
Cecilstown, Cork, Ireland
00353 22 27773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 69 Attractions in Cork
Type: Water sports, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ballyhass Lakes is Ireland’s best known still spring water trout fishery, with 11 four star holiday homes and an activity centre for groups and schools, sports clubs and teams, and corporate team building.Activity Centre:The activity centre at Ballyhass makes full use of the natural environs with kayaking, raft building and trout fishing on the spring clean water, rock climbing and abseiling on the limestone rock faces, and specially constructed low ropes courses, archery and team building games on the lawns. Our resident instructors plan the activities to suit each group be they family outings, school groups, or corporate team building.Fishing Centre:The fishery has two separate lakes. The main lake is 12 acres of spring water some 35 feet deep and is reserved for fly fishing only. It can be fished by boat or from prepared fishing stands on the bank. On lower lake, worm spinning and bubble and fly methods are permitted and extensive safe fishing stands surround the lake. The fishing lodge has an extensive tackle shop for fly and bait, and rod hire. The fishery is open 09.00 to dusk 364 day per year. Tuition on fly fishing is available.Holiday Accommodation:There are 11 Holiday homes on the 36 acres site at Ballyhass. The houses have either 3 or four bedrooms and are exceptionally well appointed with wooden floors throughout and natural fireplaces and natural wood furniture. All houses have a decking area leading on to landscaped lawns. They are available for rent for periods of 2 days or more.
Ballinhassig, Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great fun and adventure in natural surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

As a leader of a youth club who visited, I can't say enough about Ballyhass. Great for team building and pushing people to overcome their fears....e.g.fear of heights etc. All of the teens and Leaders had a super day, and after 6 hours of activities , we had unlimited use of a soccer pitch, rounders equipment, soccer/rugby balls, and bar b q . They were lucky to get rid of us at all!! Can't wait to go back next year and maybe try an overnight camp there more time would be super next too....so much to do that time around.Leaders and organisers could not have been more helpful and professional also and the safety equipment was high standard.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyhass L, Manager at Ballyhass Lakes Activity Centre, Fishing & Wakepark, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate it. Its great to hear you had a good day. With our new camping facilities we would be delighted to host you for a whole weekend next year! We will come up with a programme so that will tick all the boxes. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great for kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Took my sons 12th birthday party here last November, we were very lucky with the weather as our experience might not have been so positive if it had been raining. You can pick the activiites you want to partake in advance, we did the absailing and the rope obstacle course and the boys loved it. We took a picnic, as there is only a snack bar there, but there is a very nice decking area to picnic in. Well worth a visit!https://www.ballyhasslakes.ie/activity-centre-cork/home

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great activity centre in North Cork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great place for active people who want a great day out from simple lake fishing to canoeing to lots more. Great for team building or school tours or social clubs. Well worth a visit

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Activity Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Ballyhass is ideal for school and youth club groups. I work in a school where we take 1st year and Transition year students on day and overnight trips. Lovely setting and helpful staff. Always an enjoyable experience.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I took my boyfriend to Ballyhass lake as he used to go fishing with his grandfather and I thought it would be a nice surprise. I was a bit unsure about the requirements to fish here so I emailed Ballyhass. They replied super quick and were extremely helpful. When we arrived the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. We had a lovely day there as there is no limit to how long you can stay. Unfortunately my boyfriend failed to catch anything during our day there.Beautiful place and lovely people. The day we went was a bit dull so jackets were definitely needed!! Saw few families with kids as well as some who appeared to be very accomplished fishers. Good for all levels 10/10

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballyhass Lakes Activity Centre, Fishing & Wakepark also viewed

 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to Ballyhass Lakes Activity Centre, Fishing & Wakepark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyhass Lakes Activity Centre, Fishing & Wakepark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.