We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lancaster Lodge to your Saves list
Lancaster Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Great place to stay if you want a clean, quiet and well equipped room. Very nice hotel and great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    147
    47
    9
    4
See reviews for
45
163
29
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

I've stayed many times in the Lancaster Lodge, when I visit Cork on business. They do everything just right there. Very clean and new, not a stained anything nor tatty edge to be seen. The bathrooms are modern and spotless. Showers are hot. The rooms have everything you need for mod-con. More important, the beds are very comfortable, and have duvets. If a bit stuffy, you can open a window, not hermetically sealed like some hotels. Fab view of the Cathedral from the back; choose a back-facing room anyhow, quieter.

Free internet, too, no hassle there.

Staff are always nice, and chatty. No restaurant on site, but many dining places within walking distance. Breakfast is just spot-on. OJ must be fresh, not from concentrate. The sugar is in a sugar bowl; the butter in a butter bowl; the jam in a jam bowl. No tearing open little packets of jam, sugar, or butter. Good varied menu. Very civilized. Free papers to read, and in the breakfast room as well.

They do everything right, what more can I say?

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

We stayed at Lancaster Lodge for one night in December to enjoy the Christmas celebrations in the city. Lancaster Quay is a 5-10 minute walk to the English Markets and shopping lanes.

We bought our stay on hotels.com and secured a room only price. We arrived early (8am) on the Saturday morning and wanted to drop our bags at the hotel - instead we were offered a room. Great service for no additional costs.

The hotel is geared towards business clients. The rooms are generously sized and there are signs advertising free wi-fi access to guests. There is no bar in the reception, there is a sitting lounge, dining room and meeting room.

Within the room there is a lcd tv, king sized bed and two radiators (one in the room and one in the bathroom). The bathroom was well finished with floor to ceiling tiles and an over bath shower.

This hotel is a good fit for location, rooms and friendly service. The prices are very reasonable and serviced by the SkyLink bus service direct to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Within easy walking distance of the centre. Felt very modern and the good sized rooms have been recently updated, although now feel slightly charaterless. Only stayed one night and didn't use the restaraunt.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Good location, a short distance from the city center. AMAZING huge breakfast. Nice clean room, very comfortable. Very nice staff, though middle-of-the-night request for extra sheets was not attended to.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, ON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

The picture on their website is a little misleading. The hotel isn't quite that lovely. The rooms were nice and clean. The location was great. Breakfast was tasty. No complaints. Decent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one night. It is located near the downtown area of Cork. The staff was friendly and the room spotless. The hotel was not exceptional, but a good place to stay,

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Address: Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.