We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lancaster Lodge to your Saves list
Lancaster Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel comes with free parking and free Wi-Fi. Breakfast wasn’t included in our room rate, but we purchased it everyday. We opted for the 6 Euro continental. Breakfast was very good. The staff running the breakfast room was very attentive!

The hotel is in a great location. Halfway between the university campus (a great place to walk around!) and the main shopping/restaurant area.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for you review of your recent 3 night stay at Lancaster Lodge.

I am delighted that you would return to stay with us again and that you found our location, breakfast and staff very good.

We would like to wish you a very Happy Christmas and hope to see you sometime in the New Year.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    163
    50
    9
    4
See reviews for
48
178
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Some front receptionists very friendly, others the bare minimum. Short walk to city centre.

Difficult to find with our sat nav and we got lost in the tiny, one way back lanes of cork. However, once there good on-site parking.

Room was ok, nothing special. Broken steam extractor in bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear AUSalex,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Lancaster Lodge.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you availed of our free guest car parking. The one way streets of Cork can be confusing even for those of us who live here, Corkonians say its part of the charm!

On foot of your review we found that one room had a bathroom extractor fan that was not working correctly and this has now been replaced.

I hope you enjoyed your trip to Cork city and we would love for you to return to stay with us again so we can give you a warm welcome across the board.

Warm regards,
Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This little hotel could easily be mistaken for a dodgy motor inn from the outside, but when you go in you will see that this is a nice hotel with friendly staff. We stayed here in August 2013 for two nights as a base to visit Kerry for the day. Great if you have a car as there is plently of parking. The room was very comfortable. The area was reasonably quiet, however the trucks going past were a bit noisy if we had the window open. The one drawback to this place is that it is a 15 minute walk to the city centre, but this was fine as it let us walk off the delicious dinners. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Gobees,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Lancaster Lodge recently.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us as a place to stay. I hope that you enjoyed your trip to Cork and is you are ever back in the city I hope you will return to stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Lancaster lodge is in an excellent location, only a few minutes walk into the city centre with free parking & Wifi. The lovely lady at reception was friendly & efficient and made check-in a breeze.
The room was comfy and spacious and though we heard a bit of street noise throughout the night it wasn't excessive.
Though there is no bar or restaurant at the hotel, this wasn't an issue for us. Staff were happy to recommend a restaurant in the city centre which turned out to be one of the best meals we had (Market Lane).
Overall a great place to spend our one night in Cork.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Dane73,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Lancaster Lodge.

I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and also that you enjoyed your evening out in the Market Lane. As you said our location being so central to the city centre and with our free car parking you can enjoy your city trip without the worry of parking.

We hope that you will return to stay again soon should you have occasion to return to Cork.

Warm regards,
Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COPENHAGEN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Good, small hotel with nice rooms, a breakfast room, free wifi etc. It was comfortable, clean and an easy walk to the city centre. Not so easy to find initially, but the bonus of free parking made it an ideal place to spend the night in Cork.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Lancaster Lodge.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us the ideal place to spend the night in Cork.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

As someone who spends a great deal of time in hotels I tend to avoid guest houses as unpredictable. Lancaster lodge is advertised as a guest house but is really a hotel. There is no bar or evening restaurant which I suppose is why it is classed as a guest house. The rooms are of hotel quality and the breakfast is excellent, both cold buffet and cooked breakfast. Hotels in Cork are expensive and this sits well in the price range. I always stay here when in Cork; there is an excellent bar over the road and many restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Torland,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your recent stay at Lancaster Lodge.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found both your bedroom and your breakfast to be excellent quality.

We thank you for your repeat custom and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lancaster Lodge on your next visit to Cork.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Until I arrived I expected to be staying in a Hotel as I had booked on a hotels website. This is not a hotel despite the price - it is a guesthouse therefore no facilities other than a breakfast room and a TV room for guests. Rooms were good size and clean. Parking availability so near to the CIty is a bonus. Internet access for guests on a PC in the TV lounge, 7 mins costs €1. Papers complimentary each morning - nice touch. Very pricey for a B&B though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterLodge, General Manager at Lancaster Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Breffni054,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay at Lancaster Lodge.

We offer 4 star bedrooms and breakfast in a very central city location with ample free car parking and free Wi-Fi for our guests. Best prices are usually available when booked directly with ourselves and if you are coming back to Cork again, please do check our our web-site for specials as we do offer very good value. I am pleased that you found you room a good size and very clean also.

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Cork and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Susan Leahy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Address: Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#14 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. In December 2014 we completed a bedroom refurbishment and offer stylish modern bedrooms with warm colours, fabrics and armchairs, and 32" Flatscreen TV's. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.