We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfy central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropole Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
The Metropole Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork) (Montenotte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Dunmore East, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice comfy central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Nice hotel with a great central location in a nice old part of cork city. The room was small but comfy - we had nice views of the river. The leisure centre was fab, and is now free for hotel guests (there used to be a 5euro charge). Breakfast was a cut above standard hotel fare. Night time porter was a little abrupt, and we did have to queue for a while to check in as there was only one girl looking after reception, but apart from these minor glitches, service was very friendly. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Essex
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

The Gresham is a fine example of old-fashioned service and quality. Arrived early on New Years Eve and having emailed them in advance was amazed that the room was available at 09:00. The receptionist was very helpful and we were in the room within minutes. The room on the top (4th) floor faced the road but we heard very little noise during our 2 night stay. Very nice 'proper' double bed made for good sleeps and the bathroom was very spacious. Enjoyed a very ample breakfast on New Years Day and January 2nd, where again the service was friendly and genuine from all concerned.

If you are staying in Cork, I'd recommend a post to Bryno (Cork Forum Expert) who gave great tips for bars and restaurants. The Gresham is very well situated with pubs and restaurants aplenty in MacCurtain Street, with a short walk over the bridge to the City Centre. Took the bus from the nearby Main Bus Station to Blarney on New Years Day and the castle is most impressive. Climb to the top is worth it for the views and of course to kiss the Blarney Stone.

Would definitely return to Cork and the Gresham as it was a most enjoyable stay in a very friendly city. The Gresham is a fine establishment!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifftours_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorks
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

This hotel was fab. Our room was lovely, dead comfy and clean. It was booked as a suprise for me by my boyfriend and i wasnt disappointed!

Credit to the reception staff who were very helpful and lovely, the only thing i can grumble about was the bar, it was mega expensive and the bar tender was a bit of a grump. Your better going to the Shelbourne whcih is a few doors down which has a lovely atmosphere and is muchos cheaper :)

The breakfast was fab! Full Irish and it was cooked to perfection, plenty to choose from and lovely staff.

To get to the hotel we took the number airport 226 bus it costs about three euro and when you get off at the bus station you only have to cross the bridge as you can see the hotel over the river from the bus station :). It takes about 2 mins to walk into town but you have fish and chip shop, chinese and pubs right on the doorstep.

All in all it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leahlufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

There is not much to be improved in this hotel for its category !!!
We really appreciated our stay in Cork at this place.

I really want the emphasize the high quality of service provided by each member of the team that we met (front desk during day & night, room service, breakfast). There were really nice and helpful.
I wish all hotels had employees so involved in providing a good quality of service.

I will recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOphie_A_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

After a warm and efficient welcome at reception we were given the keys to our room.
We found the room to be spotless and warm.
The breakfast was very good and all the staff were very friendly except a barman ( who was foreign) and I don't think he was aware of what a "residents bar" meant.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and will probably go back in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddybanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stay at the Gresham Metropole each year for the Cork Jazz weekend in October and find all of the staff, and particularly those on the front desk to be genuinely friendly, helpful and efficient. Rooms are well presented and comfortable, and the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main city centre shopping area of Patrick St. The Irish breakfast is pretty good too, and if you're not up for that there's a terrific little coffee shop round the corner (Cork Coffee Roasters). A great value option and a hotel that deserves to do business.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

My girlfriend had booked us in for the Saturday/Sunday of the Bank Holiday weekend to mark my birthday and enjoy the Cork Jazz Fesitival from the principal venue. She had emailed the Hotel beforehand explaining it was a special occassion and looking for some tips/pointers on the Jazz etc. Also asked about a bottle of wine in the room on arrival. The response was curt and matter of fact so she was a little disappointed with that. On arrival our experience at check in was not much better. I would describe it as a luke warm. We were not welcomed or made feel we could approach them if we had any issues. Small things but fairly standard for better hotels. The wine (€30.00 extra) was in the room on arrival however this was understandable as techically we were early. We rang to have it sent up and it was .. but we weren't given a bottle opener. So we had to ring again. We were given a bottle opener but not one with a cork screw so my girlfriend had to go down to reception .. However we would fully understand that its probably the busiest weekend of the year for the Hotel and it was fantastic to be staying at the centre of the festival. Would have liked a bit more from the front desk staff in terms of being made feel welcome. Also when checking out we weren't asked if we enjoyed our stay. Probably next year, given the price, we will try another city centre hotel. Pluses: Location - Accessability to 'Guinness Club' at night. Negatives: Not made feel particularly valued or welcome.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank menapian98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 2,571 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Centre
Clarion Hotel Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#17 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 1,486 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Address: MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland (Formerly The Gresham Metropole Cork)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cork
#17 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, The Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of Tifco Hotel Group, The Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at The Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing