We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gresham Metropole Cork

Save Saved
You added The Gresham Metropole Cork to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gresham Metropole Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   MacCurtain Street,, Cork, Ireland (Montenotte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Cork
Clogheen, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“well located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well located. Parking is a bit of an issue because of where it is, but I suppose €7 for 24 parking is not too bad., The hotel itself is very nice & the staff are very friendly. The rooms are a bit dated but it served its purpose.. I have stayed here a few times & I'll be back!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards Roger Russell General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    218
    110
    46
    41
See reviews for
56
232
54
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The staff in the hotel was very kind even though they were very busy as it was coming up to new years eve.

There was a group of us staying there was very relaxed the amtosphere was good they couldn't do more to help us

Room Tip: Its very near the city centre & near the everyman theatre if you fancy going to see a play or se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards Roger Russell General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Spent New Year's Eve in Cork and stayed at this hotel. The double room was perfectly adequate and the hotel ideally located for the city centre - we were out until 2 a.m. so really only used the hotel for sleeping in and the resident's bar which was ok, altho' the G&T was pretty bad. Staff were helpful and room was clean.
Best thing about it: it's on the same street as the Sakura Japanese Restaurant which is fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do not hestiate to contact me directly when making your booking.
Regards Roger Russell General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

stayed here as it was one of the only ones avaliable. did expect it to be quite noisy as we had a room right next to the road but it was surprisingly quiet. room service and food was good. parking is a bit of a let down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bantry
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We went to Cork on a Christmas shopping trip and last minute decided to stay over and make a night of it. Popped in to the Gresham Metropole and got a room, 70.oo including parking (ya parking is slightly down the street in a public car park, but no inconvenience) The hotel is perfect for a shopping trip, 2 minutes to the shops. Receptionist and bar staff were all welcoming and friendly. Didn't opt for the breakfast. The room and bathroom were small and a bit dated but immaculately clean, the bed was very comfortable and we had a perfect sleep. I would most definitely stay again, if I planned a longer trip I would upgrade to a larger room. However for us on this occasion it was ideal,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bantry, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great value hotel in an awesome location to the city center yet far enough removed to have a very good nights sleep. Staff both friendly & informative on where to go eat/socialize.

No faults with the swimming pool, clean and cared for.

Breakfast on par with every other good hotel.

I've stayed repeatedly over the years and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed in the Gresham Metropole Cork during my Ireland trip for one night.

Let me start with the positives - Very good location, right across the bus station, overlooking the river, 2 minutes walk from the high street and shopping centre, good food at the restaurant. The staff were freindly and helped us in planning our day in Cork (since we only had one day). They kept our luggage safely in the cloak room after we checked out and wanted to do some sightseeing in Cork.

The best part was that the bus to Dublin (Aircoach) starts from right in front of the hotel, so if you are travelling by bus you need not move around with your luggage. The hotel also has a nice swimming pool and a good gym. Wi-fi was fast and free.

However, the room was extremely small with hardly any space to move around..even though it was a double room. The bed was smaller than an average queen bed..so I did not personally like the room. The breakfast was ok..buffet for both hot and cold..quality was average.

So other than the size of the room, everything else was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gresham Metropole Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gresham Metropole Cork

Address: MacCurtain Street,, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gresham Metropole Cork 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, the Gresham Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of the Gresham Hotels Group, the Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at the Gresham Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Gresham Metropole Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gresham Metropole Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.