We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money from attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gresham Metropole Cork

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gresham Metropole Cork to your Saves list
The Gresham Metropole Cork
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   MacCurtain Street,, Cork, Ireland (Montenotte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Cashel, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Value for money from attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I wanted city Centre during a tech conference and The Gresham gave me a compact room that enabled me to buy my fair share of rounds during our evening discussions. I enjoy the character of the hotel because it's owners have respected the fabric of the building while keeping its rooms clean and functional.

Some on Foursquare note how the hotel attracts a lot of over-50 guests. During my stay, several busloads of 30-something hens arrived to reduce that age cohort. And based on what I heard through the walls, these women are physically active.

The in-house exercise facilities encourage a different kind of activity and I wish I had brought my gear with me. But that would have limited my early morning session in the resident's bar so I am glad I stayed unfit.

Breakfast was bright and airy with the most attentive staff I have seen working floors, tables and service area. They followed the excellent example of the manager who seemed to be everywhere.

Based on my experience with the hotel, I think I will book a return with my family so we can watch Cork come to life some evening with the hotel's view of the River Lee.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    258
    123
    53
    42
See reviews for
67
268
63
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in September and had a very pleasant visit. Located just across the river from the main shopping area, the Gresham is convenient for exploring sites on both sides of town. Parking was included in a garage just down the street and our room (which was in the "modern" part of the hotel) was small but very clean and had a view of the east end.

The dining room overlooks the north side of Cork and here we enjoyed dinner one evening and both breakfasts - the latter was fresh, plentiful and served mostly cafeteria style. We stopped by the hotel bar on both nights and were impressed with the friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere.

The hotel is showing its age in places (aren't we all!) but is certainly worth considering.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If one desires to be in the real mix of the Fest, this is the place to stay. Very busy and lots of fun. Three venues on the property itself. Music was in the air. Opportunity to hear a great band and share a pint with the musicians at the bar.

Staff at front desk and bar were nonstop busy. Regardless of the masses, service delivery was outstanding. The smiling staff truly added to the wonderful experience.

The room itself was simple with no frills. Who cares? Only went there to sleep. One housekeeping issue was brought to their attention and was that was immediately addressed.

Good times...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for our sons graduation and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this hotel. We found all the staff very friendly and the hotel itself central. Breakfast was good and again served by very friendly staff. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Room was a good size, clean and well kept. The hotel is in a good location, pretty close to everything and is quiet. The breakfast isn't that great, cooked well enough but far from a traditional Irish breakfast. That said there is a reasonable amount of choice and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here solo while visiting friends. I got a great deal online so I was pleased

Hotel staff and bar staff are friendly. Rooms are a mix of old fashioned decor and modern touches. (The shower was great!)

Breakfast was buffet style and operates extended hours at the weekend which is great. Some dishes are available if you ask for them. I did feel there could have been more fruit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I am very disappointed after my dinner at The Met bar and restaurant of the Gresham Metropole.
I am just back home and I want to write the review right now.
Me and 5 friends of mine went to have dinner there, food was just average,not bad, not really good.
Then my fiancee joined us arount 9 30-9 40 and he asked the desert menu,and the reply was:"kitchen is closed, and to be clear chef left so no more food available tonight".
I think is simple unbelievable, I go to have dinner and nobody advise me to be fast to eat my food(and the food didn't come fast at all)if I would have the chance to order a dessert.
I suggest to avoid this place, food is nothing special, beers are so so(I ased to the waiter to change muy Ale as it tasted bad), service is nothing special and chef is lazy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments. I was disappionted to read that we did not meet your expectations. Could you please contact me directly so that we may discuss further?
Regards
Roger Russell
General Manager
roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gresham Metropole Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gresham Metropole Cork

Address: MacCurtain Street,, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gresham Metropole Cork 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, the Gresham Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of the Gresham Hotels Group, the Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at the Gresham Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Gresham Metropole Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gresham Metropole Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.