We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and Breakfast and Breakfast and Breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Garnish House to your Saves list
Garnish House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Western Road, Cork, Ireland (Mardyke)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast and Breakfast and Breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

If you're in Cork, and you eat , stay here.

In all honesty, I would have rated Garnish House somewhere between Neutral and Above Average if it weren't for the food. The rooms were okay, but nothing special and the bathroom was definitely starting to need some renovation. We even had to switch rooms due to plumbing problems from the room above. (We got a profound apology, and everything was resolved in minutes).

Despite that, I'll give an overall rating of Excellent purely because of the food.

They say they meet you with cakes and tea upon checkin, and they aren't talking about a plate of twinkies. We were shown our rooms and then brought to a sitting room with a fireplace, tea, and a huge platter of about 20 kinds of pastries, fresh and home made.

Breakfast was in a very nice dining room, and the food just kept coming. They had everything from oatmeal with Irish Cream to Salmon, a ton of different fruit, toast, and the usual Irish breakfast choices. I think we ate 2 or 3 breakfasts worth of food each day.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Bathrooms need renovation. Not terrible, but showing their age.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    245
    70
    32
    11
See reviews for
208
367
54
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

I have stayed in many B&Bs over the years and Garnish House surpasses them all. It is comfortable, clean, conveniently located, the staff is more than friendly and the food is just amazing.
We were welcomed at 7 a.m., having driven straight from Shannon airport. Marcel greeted us and told us to come in and have some breakfast while they rushed to get our room ready. The breakfast, as everyone else has written, is outstanding! The quality and quantity set us up for the rest of the day.
Our room was comfortable, quiet, the bed was a king size, great water pressure in the nicely done bathroom, flat screen t.v., a bowl of fruit and of course, the necessities to make tea in our room.
We returned from a walk on our second day and were ushered into the living room for a wonderful tea. Scones, brownies, croisants, etc. And always, hospitaltiy

I can't say enough good things about our stay. I only wish that we had a reason to return to Cork in the near future.

  • Liked — The welcoming attitude of the staff, the breakfast and the comfortable room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2007

The best hotel I've ever stayed in. Personal touches, modern, cosy and spotless. Very comfortable and quiet. Thanks to the friendly staff, especially Michael. Beds so comfortable, bowl of fruit in room,hairdryer,tea & coffee, iron & board. Everything you could want. Breakfast excellent. Had porridge with baileys which set me up for the day. exellent value for money. Cannot praise it enough.

  • Liked — Personal touches
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

Stayed here over St Patricks Weekend. Walking distance into town centre (which saved on taxi's!), parking for the cars, lovely afternoon tea with to-die-for brownies were ready waiting when we arrived after the long journey. It did just the trick to bide us over til supper. Breakfasts are as good if not better than all the reviews. If you enjoy bigger than normal beds, ensure you check what size bed you have in your room when booking. Ours was a normal size (as opposed to a queen or king) which was a shame as we couldn't upgrade due to it being fully booked. They were comfy all the same. Really lovely friendly staff who offer advise and chat. Oh and it has broadband if you need it for your laptop. But was a perfect choice for a couple nights in Cork. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Size of room, standard of showers
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

What a brilliant bed and breakfast! It has managed to combine that small hotel feel with the best characteristics of the traditional B&B. Just stayed for the one night, but wished we could have stayed longer. We could not believe the complimentary tea and fine selection of delicious cakes, scones, fresh cream and jam we received on arrival. Our room was newly decorated, spotless, and had everything from shower cap to iron, ironing board, flat-screen tv, phone, and hairdryer as well as a blow-you-away power shower. We had an exceptionally good night's sleep on our bed, which was almost as high as the one in the Princess and the Pea fairy tale. Then to top everything came the breakfast of all breakfasts. It was very difficult to decide on what to have from the extensive meu, but my eventual choice of fruit-filled pancakes was a good one. Finally, just to say that the staff were really genuinely friendly, without that sense of forced nicey nice, you sometimes encounter. Now planning on a weekend in Cork, just so we can have some of those cakes again!

  • Liked — food, parking, location, welcome, cleanliness, value for money
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

From the warm welcome to the fond farewell you are totally looked after. Garnish house is spotless. The arrival tea and cakes are just the start. Marcel and his big smile welcome you with a host of information.
We ,like the previous reviewers got an upgrade. It was spacious and extremely comfortable.
The breakfasts are out of this world. It is a mixture of social, cultural and gastronomic experience. The menu is extensive.... basically whatever you want and more. I recommend the porridge with the irish whiskey! You would have to be extremely hard not to refuse the warm irish request to "ar' you'll have a pancke with that". My tip is that you dress light and keep an extra notch on your belt free. After our first breakfast we did not eat until 7 that evening! The breakfast experience is accompanied by Johanna and her team constantly checking on your well being.
If in Cork you must stay here.

  • Liked — The breakfasts
  • Disliked — Lack of twritten ourist information
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, Northants
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

I'll start with my boyfriends detailed review of the hotel....

ACE

I however have slightly more to say about the place. The welcome was impecable and the homemade scones and cakes were brilliant after travelling all day to get their. The tea was lovely too! and never ending. We were upgraded into their biggest room so I cant tell you what the normal ones are like but our room was huge and lovely. Bathroom was huge and it had a jacuzzi too. I'm pregnant so all of this is great for my limited mobility at the minute. Room 5 if you want to request it. The great thing about the place was that it wasn't perfect. Which made it sooooo homely and welcoming. What was perfect was the attitude of all of the staff. It really was like staying at your grans for the weekend.

BEWARE of the breakfast. We had the irish breakfast everyday (even though we vowed to try something else) and my rugby player boyfriend got treated like royalty. The extras were never ending. I didn't once finish mine but he got extras that made him have to have a nap after breakfast. Didn't bother me as I'm pregnant but if you want to get out and about just say NO! But apparently its worth leaving space for the pancakes.

I'm trying to think of something that I didn't like about the place but I really can't think of anything! Even listening to people being forced to have another helping of something at breakfast made my day.

Sorry my boyfriend just wanted to add "IT'S JUST ACE"

Stay here we loved it

  • Liked — The staff, you will want to move in with them or take them home with you
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garnish House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garnish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.