We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Ireland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garnish House

Save Saved
You added Garnish House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garnish House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Western Road, Cork, Ireland (Mardyke)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Stamford, CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Ireland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Clean, comfortable, B&B. Room was quite small, but clean and comfortable. About a 15-20 minute walk to the center of town but the breakfast makes it all worth it. By far the best breakfast we had the whole two weeks we were in Ireland. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Cost was 115 euro.
We only stayed in Cork for one night but if we had it to do over again would have stayed for probably 3 nights.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    569
    210
    62
    26
    8
See reviews for
185
307
46
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stumbled across this B&B quite by accident, and what a little gem it was. It's not far from the centre of town. The fellow who booked us in was extremely helpful, and offered us a discount for having to stay in the lodgings across the road, but the room there was great. It was spacious, bright, airy and clean - the bathroom even smelt of bleach - and there was even a washing machine and dryer that we could use - all inclusive. We were served with a sumptuous afternoon tea fit for a Queen once we had checked in, and the breakfast the next morning was awesome. There was a huge menu to chose from, and everything was delicious. I can certainly recommend the porridge with Irish Bailey's cream - it's the only way to have porridge.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, spaciousness, great food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Although Garnish House is a bit pricey, the breakfast and other amenities make up for that. The breakfast choices are so plentiful and amazing. The rooms are spacious and clean. We were across the street in another one of their properties which was not a problem. There are 3 suites in the house we were in which would be great for a family reunion. You have a complete kitchen at your disposal, a dining room, as well as a sitting room with satellite tv.(as well as tv in your own room.) There are laundry facilities available. The bus, which is quite frequent, is just around the corner and stops right in front of Garnish House on the return trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville QLD, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

I spent 3 nights here and absolutely loved it.

The rooms were clean, neat and quite modern. The beds were great as well - we wanted to find out what brand it was so that we could get our own back home!

Upon arrival, even though it was quite late, we received a complimentary basket of scones, breads, and pastries with some spreads. And the breakfast? My goodness - there was a restaurant style menu on the table, and before you made your selection of what you would like to be cooked (all fresh) they served up a delicious bowl of porridge with a healthy amount of Irish Cream on top! The breakfasts were so good we tried to limit the dinner we had the evening prior just to save some space! :)

Definitely the best B&B I have stayed in, or even heard about!!

  • Liked — The breakfasts!
  • Disliked — The small dining room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Amazing service, every hour of the day they went out of their way to meet our needs. We arrived late and they prepared us a great welcome meal (see pictures). Our room was amazing with free wifi to boot. We wish we had been able to spend more time at breakfast, as it was truly a one of a kind experience. If you stay here, save a good chunk of time for breakfast - you won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

All the other reviews are right, the Garnish is excellent! Not one problem to mention. We checked in late which was no problem. Every staff member we came across we great. Our room was very nice, just enough room, spotlessly clean, good size fridge empty of any contents and nice bathroom with good pressure and hot water in the shower. The bed was one of the most comfortable I ever slept in at any B&B or hotel.
The breakfast was simply amazing. Many choices, all fresh and excellent. I even asked if they could make a ham and cheese omlette which was not a listed omelette and this was not a problem.
The Garnish is only a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre and less than a 5 minute walk to two very nice pubs. Area was quiet as well. This has been the best B&B we have ever stayed at by far. I would love to stay again if I'm ever back in Cork.

  • Liked — Breakfast and the Bed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

My husband and I were on our honeymoon (we visited parts of Ireland and Scotland) and stayed at the Garnish House for 2 nights - May 23 and May 24.

When we arrived, we were greeted with an afternoon tea that left us full and happy for hours...we STILL talk about how good the scones and cakes were. The tea was so good that we asked where we could buy it and took a box home to Canada with us!

Then we were taken to our room - they were so kind to give us an upgrade for our honeymoon and we had a suite all to ourselves with a sitting area and a kitchen. It was far more than we could have expected.

The B&B is in a great location - you are within walking distance of the main areas of the city. We felt really safe in the area and were comfortable with parking our car outside of the Garnish House (parking was included).

The Garnish House really set the bar high for the rest of our trip - we were constantly talking about how great our stay was and how great the food was there all through our trip. I had never stayed in a B&B before and from that point on I decided that from now on when I go to Europe, this was going to be our accomodation of choice.

The price per person is a lot higher than most B&B's (we paid 55 Euros per person) but once you stay there you will see why. They are warm, welcoming and very helpful. The food is very good and you will never starve there...we actually came to a point on the second day where we had to beg them to stop feeding us! Haha.

Hats off to Marcel and the rest of the staff for the wonderful food and service...we can't wait to come back to Cork to stay there again! Thank you for a memorable experience on our honeymoon.

Cheers, Sandy and Anjan, Toronto, Canada

  • Liked — Great service, friendly and helpful staff and great food!
  • Disliked — No complaints...excellent in every way
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy welcoming afternoon tea and a famously gourmet breakfast in Cork City center's premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE is an AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork city centre. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 7-bedroom townhouse), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garnish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.