We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Garnish House to your Saves list
Garnish House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Western Road, Cork, Ireland (Mardyke)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We planned a week and a half trip all over Ireland in August 2012 and our first stop was in Cork. We arrived and did not find it right away, but once we did, we were greeted with a friendly smile. I'm not sure why, but we were offered an upgrade to our room which included a king size bed! We were exhausted from our flight from the States and drive from Dublin so we decided the first thing we wanted to do was take a short nap. We were told that before heading into city center, we could stop by the main building for some tea, scones, and biscuits. The room was small, as it is in most places in Europe, but it was cozy. And the bed was extremely comfortable. We love to travel and even though we don't spend too much time in the rooms, the moments that we do, are very important.

We did not stay in the main building but instead had to walk a short distance to where our room was. Not entirely convenient, but it was fine. It just meant not a lot of foot traffic coming though our building :) Once we awoke, we headed back to the main building, we were treated with scones and tea which were delicious! We headed out to the city center which was about a 15-20 minute walk. We did not get a chance to try the breakfast which we've heard was amazing. We overslept the next morning and we were only there for one night. We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Well, it's clear from your review that you will just *have* to return to Garnish House at some point in the future, because you simply must experience the Garnish breakfast...

Thank you for such a wonderful review of Garnish. We are always happy to upgrade our guests whenever availability allows, and we are glad you liked your accommodation.

We hope to welcome you back to Garnish in the near future -- our breakfast menu awaits!

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    245
    70
    32
    11
See reviews for
208
367
54
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

If your are visiting cork, I highly recomend, The Garnish House. We were greated in the late afternoon by a friendly staff and offered tea, coffee, scones and other delicious breads. Room and facility was clean and neat. Great hot breakfast in the morning with a lot of choices on the menu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Garnish House, and for choosing us as your home from home during your recent visit to Cork.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The first impression of the Garnish House is set with the class and warmth of the greeting received. Upon arrival and before taking luggage to the room, you are invited to partake of freshly baked scones, breads, and pastry while sipping coffee or tea. Our host took the time to answer questions about the area, offered suggestions for dinning and provide us with maps and brochures. He then showed us to our rooms, with his parting remark that the best was yet to come at breakfast tomorrow.
The rooms are of moderate size furnished with queen beds, a table and chairs, flat screen TV, coffee maker and mini-fridge. The bath was equipped with a shower. The only drawback was the noisy college students living nearby enjoying their Friday night into the wee hours of the morning which necessitated us closing the only to the window in the room.
As promised by our host the previous afternoon, breakfast was the best to come. We starter of with coffee and porridge topped with either Bailey's Irish or Irish whiskey, I chose the Bailey's. I'll never see oatmeal in the same light again. We were then presented with a menu with over thirty choice of entrees. One could have as many and as much as you wanted. I chose Smoked salmon eggs benedict with hash browns. It was out of this world! Also available were breads, scones, pastries, fruit, and cheese. This was absolutely the best breakfast of the trip and has raised the bar for any in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not in the rear of the building to avoid noise from close neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Garnish House. It sounds like you were able to take best advantage of both our welcoming afternoon tea of freshly baked scones, Irish soda bread and cakes, and our famous Garnish breakfast. Our Baileys flavoured porridge might well be the most popular item on the menu...!

I was sorry to read that you experienced noise from our neighbours but rest assured that is an exceptional event. When it does occur, it is something our evening and night staff monitor through the night -- we have 24-hour reception -- and they take action whenever necessary.

We hope it won't stop you from returning to Garnish in the future as it was a pleasure to host you here and we would be delighted to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here for a week in September as part of a university conference and was truly sad to depart. The owner is incredibly warm and caring. When I requested an extra blanket or asked about a room detail, she was very nice and happy to make sure it was taken care of, as well as for those that were arriving in the door. A very busy, happy place, with wonderful breakfast options - I mean, one could survive on the fresh scones and tea, as they are delicious and amazing. I loved the comfort and ease of staying in this wonderful bed and breakfast. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you kindly for your glowing review of Garnish House. Yours is the experience we strive to leave every guest with.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Garnish, especially when you were sad to leave us!

Warmest regards and thanks from all the team here at Garnish House.

Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring md
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The breakfast is what gives this inn 4 stars. We were traveling with 2 other couples and we all found the Garnish House to be satisfactory. We all had to climb stairs with our luggage to get to our rooms. The rooms were not large and furnishings were basic--lacking in any charm.
We were met at check in with scones, a variety of breads, coffee/tea which was a very nice touch although it seemed the breads had been left out since breakfast (not stale, but not fresh). The host was very friendly and offered suggestions about touring Cork and good restaurants. Breakfast was outstanding. The menu offered several choices and there was a buffet bar. All of the food exceptional--salmon, sausage, bacon, eggs, sauces, waffles, pancakes, fruits, breads. We were able to order exactly what we wanted, such as no mushrooms or two tomatoes and crispy toast. The breakfast makes this place a great stop in Cork.

Room Tip: Just be aware that there may be several flights of stairs. The front rooms have some street noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We thank you sincerely for choosing Garnish House as your base during your recent visit to Cork.

Garnish is a traditional bed and breakfast and our decor and facilities reflect that. However I have to say I was surprised to read that you felt our en-suite rooms lacked 'charm' as guests frequently use just that word to describe their stay. Nonetheless, if you were at all disappointed with your rooms we would've been happy to move you to something more to your taste, and our staff are always available to assist with luggage.

All the food we serve here at Garnish, from our delicious baked scones to our 30+ breakfast options to our guest favourite, our sweet chocolate cake, is freshly prepared here in our kitchen everyday.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed the famous Garnish breakfast and rated our service 5-stars. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travelers.

Kindest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for just one night at the Garnish House enroute to Dublin from Dingle. One word of warning: if you're driving from the south using a GPS the only address provided is "Western Road" Well, Western Road is a long road and it becomes a one way street halfway in, so we had an impossible time finding the place. Finally had to stop, park the car and ask around. Best advice I could give is to shoot for the Main entrance of University College Cork. That's in most GPS attractions lists and this B&B is right across the street. After our one hour search in the pouring rain, we were greeted at the door by Johanna, the proprietor, who had a delicious selection of tea, scones and pastries awaiting. My daughter and I stayed at a room adjacent to the main house which had access to a small quiet sitting room. Room was very small, as was the bathroom, but the space was adequate and there was plenty of room to store bags and toiletries. We opted out of the large breakfast as we're not big eaters, but reqested coffee and were given a nice selection of pastries to accompany. Best part of this B&B was that the beds were very comfortable and I got a decent nights sleep, something that is hard to come by when you're traveling and choose to stay in the downtown areas of most cities. Walking distance to all important sites in Cork. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Garnish House. It was our pleasure to host you and your daughter while you were here in Cork.

Garnish House doesn't have a house number and is located on the one-way stretch of Western Road -- a combination that GPS doesn't always appreciate! We recommend that guests enter the location '1 LANCASTER QUAY' and then drive straight past it -- Garnish House will quickly appear on your right. For more information on directions to Garnish House, please see the 'Directions' page of our website.

We thank you again for choosing Garnish House and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you both back here at some stage in the future.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We toured Ireland for just under two weeks, staying at bed & breakfast spots throughout the country. Garnish House was perhaps our least favorite - not bad by any means, but just much more dormitory-style than the other, more quaint, spots we stayed. There were three separate buildings spread among a few blocks and, while the rooms were clean and comfortable, the overall feel of the building (with shared kitchen and common area) was a bit hostel-y for our taste. The breakfast was spectacular - multiple courses and something for every taste - and the house was a quick 15-20 minute walk into the center of Cork. Seems to be a great place to stay with a large group and/or if you're planning to cook during your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarnishHouse, Owner at Garnish House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently here at Garnish House, and for taking the time to share you experience with your fellow travelers.

We were disappointed to read that you weren't 100% happy with the accommodation you were allocated; had you brought it to our attention at the time, we would have happily moved you to another location without question.

One of the most popular aspects of Garnish House is that we have such a large variety of room types, a selection made possible by our additional properties all within a minute's walk of reception here on Western Road in Cork.

Westbourne, the 7-bedroom townhouse where you stayed, is indeed popular with groups, but individual guests have also told us how much they enjoy the extra space, and the kitchen and laundry facilities -- especially guests for whom Cork is just one stop on a longer Ireland trip. They really seem to appreciate the self-service washer and dryer!

We are pleased you enjoyed our 'spectacular' breakfast and we hope to welcome you back to Garnish in the near future.

Warmest regards
Johanna Lucey
Owner, Garnish House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garnish House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garnish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.